Into The Blocks- Kyle Shaun Aquino

Accelerating the growth of the Blockchain Developer ecosystem, one dApp at a time

Ankit
The Spectrum
3 min readFeb 10, 2019

--

Kyle Shaun Aquino

In the second installment of our series titled Into The Block where we interview Kyle Shaun Aquino, a fellow from Bridge Academy 2018 Cohort.

1. Hi Kyle, firstly, tell us about your experience at Bridge in one word?

Life-changer. Bridge Academy introduced me to a lot of experienced developers that I can connect to. Being in third-world country, having these important connections really is helpful and is a life-changer for me. It brought me a new perspective in how to enter in to this new industry.

2. Now, let’s talk about how things went about your project? What did you build during your three months here at Bridge? Did you perform to your expectations or you think you could have done better?

I developed a prototype for a decentralized cooperatives platform called Psycellium. Unfortunately, due to the time constraint and a lot of requirements in developing the platform, I have just developed mostly on the smart contract and not much on the user interface. Everything is a learning for me. Just to learn how to develop decentralized applications here at bridge is enough to reach my expectations though it also thought me when materializing a large idea it’s better to create the most fundamental module that will eventually grow into that original concept. In connection to Psycellium, I should’ve focused more on creating a multi-signature wallet.

3. How does the road look like going ahead for you? What are you planning to achieve in the next 6 months?

I will be graduating this April for my CS undergraduate studies, yay! Currently working on 3 platforms which includes Psycellium, Pravada (An Online Publishing Platform), and Cell-io (A Multisignature Wallet). I’m still not sure of where to go but blockchain tech is the path I’m planning to take.

4. How did you feel about the mentor support?

The mentoring support did help me focus and think about how to develop my ideas effectively. They provided a framework that I could work on which is great!

5. What’s that one thing you’d like to see change in the Blockchain Tech scenario?

I would like to see what made me interested in blockchain in general in the first place: The ability of this technology to enable globalization of processes and transaction for any fields. Basically, what I hope to see in the future is the democratization of services regardless of your status, gender, country or class

6. Which project do you think currently has the best team out there?

Well, there’s Consensys that helps developers in creating these decentralized applications.

7. If you were to invest $1M in crypto startup out there, which one would you choose and why?

If I were to invest in a crypto startup I would choose to partner with startups that focus on helping marginalized sectors that don’t really have access to usual financial services available to the public.

About Kyle Shaun Aquino

Kyle is a 19-year-old from Phillipines studying Computer Science at the Technological University of the Philippines — Manila.

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/kyleaquino

Twitter: https://twitter.com/imkyleshaun

--

--