What do I write?

The perennial problem of how to begin

Carolyn Hastings
the speech:ery

--

Sheet of blank white paper hanging by a black peg on a string against grey background
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I might as well be honest and come right out with it.

This is my first article on Medium.

I have no grand illusions of the article being an instant success. I expect no accolades. No claps. No comments. No followers. No curation.

It’s not that I lack confidence in my abilities. I know I can write. I know I can spell. I know that I know a thing or two about grammar and syntax.

It’s more about being realistic.

Realistic in terms of, what are the chances? What are the chances of my first foray into writing on a global online publishing platform even being noticed?

Hang on, I’m getting ahead of myself. Let’s take that back a notch.

What are the chances of me even getting the article posted on the platform?

Yeah, that’s more the point. If experience has taught me anything, it’s this: when it comes to tech, I have a much better chance of stuffing it up than getting it right.

I’m not joking.

Tech and I have a love-hate relationship that goes way back to secondary school days. When I say, way back, I really do mean…

--

--

Carolyn Hastings
the speech:ery

Well-practiced speech pathologist now practicing to be a children’s book writer — emphasis on practicing.