Inflight Review: Hellboy (2019)

Anthony Costanzo
The Spinchoon
Published in
3 min readJul 29, 2019
LIONSGATE/SUMMIT

In the spirit of a reoccurring Flix and a Six segment, I would like to kill a narrative. Hellboy delivers beyond what I would have imagined, and far beyond what the critics and fans would have me believe. While the plot is nothing to write home about, the movie shines in its witty dialog, hysterical delivery, and the relationships forged between the core cast throughout. Add in a touch of decent world building, and a heaping serving of camp, and the result is genuinely entertaining. 6/10 (7–8 on an airplane)

When Hellboy was initially teased, I was sold. I had recently become infatuated with David Harbour’s performance in his run on Stranger Things, and I was very much looking forward to seeing him take on this character. Unfortunately, when the reviews landed — including those from sources with which I generally align — I was bummed to hear that it bombed. Normally I would follow my gut and make the time, but we had other flicks to prioritize for our weekly podcast.

Flash forward a few months and I find myself with 5 hours to go on a flight across the country and a perfect opportunity. Scrolling through the litany of trash on the in-flight display, I was thrilled to come across something I had neither seen nor already owned, and actually wanted to watch.

The plot felt a little generic “Fanta-Sci”, but that plot is far from the star of the show. David Harbour is even more wonderful with every successive delivery. He owns the semi-slacker, tired, and bored persona of someone doing the same old work for far too long. His dry mumbling delivery of tongue-in-cheek jokes along with his random shouts and hysterics are genuinely entertaining. I will admit to having a few audible chuckles despite my solo, yet public, viewing. This up and down delivery comes to a head in a mid-credit-scene that is absolutely hysterical.

If you have listened to our episodes on the John Wick films you will know how much we love Ian McShane. A true thespian with a captivating cadence, Ian takes on the role of Hellboy’s (adoptive) father. Papa McShane delivers a thoughtful, and strangely realistic, performance as the father of a hell beast; it’s a relationship that can only work by leaning into the camp.

Another relationship worth paying attention to, is that of Hellboy and Alice. They share this charming brother/sister banter while being very protective of one another. It makes for some very entertaining dialog and serves will in moving the plot along.

You’re not diving into Hellboy in search of the next Academy Award nominee, so get in the right mind set, grab some popcorn, and enjoy.

Tune in weekly to Flix and a Six for more movie (and beer) goodness.

Follow me on Twitter @AEJCostanzo and our site @TheSpinchoon

--

--

Anthony Costanzo
The Spinchoon

Developer, Gamer, Musician, Photographer, Film Enthusiast, Podcaster and founder of The Spinchoon.