28 Things About My Invisible Illness You May Not Know

Spoonie Sanctuary
The Spoonie Sanctuary
2 min readMay 21, 2017

The Illnesses I Live With Are: Interstitial Cystitis, Endometriosis, Pelvic Floor Dysfunction, Anxiety and Depression

I Was Diagnosed With It In The Year: 2012

I Have Had Symptoms Since: 2012

The Biggest Adjustment I’ve Had To Make Is: Not Being Able To Do The Things I Used To

Most People Assume: I Am Faking It For Attention

The Hardest Part About Mornings Are: Getting Out Of Bed

My Favorite Guilty Pleasure Is: White Chocolate Kit Kats

A Gadget I Couldn’t Live Without Is: My Tablet

The Hardest Part About Nights Are: Insomnia Due To Pain

Each Day I Take: Antidepressants, Pain Meds

Regarding Alternative Treatments I: Have Tried Almost Everything And My Pain Management Doctor Is Running Out Of Ways To Help

Regarding Working And Career: I Am On Disability

People Would Be Surprised To Know: I Am Much Sicker Than I Look

The Hardest Thing To Accept About My New Reality Has Been: Losing Family And Friends

Something I Never Thought I Could Do With My Illness That I Did Was: Accept It

The Commercials About My Illness: Not Sure Actually
Something I Really Miss Doing Since I Was Diagnosed Is: Going On Long Walks

It Was Really Hard To Have To Give Up: Food I Love

A New Hobby I Have Taken Up Since My Diagnosis Is: Writing

If I Could Have One Day Of Feeling Normal Again I Would: Go On A Long Walk, Eat My Favorite Foods And Go Swimming

My Illness Has Taught Me: To Believe In Myself When Others Don’t

Want To Know A Secret? My Illness Is Worse Than I Usually Tell People

But I Love It When People: Ask How I Am And Actually Want To Talk

My Favorite Motto, Scripture, Quote That Gets Me Through Tough Times Is:You Were Given This Life Because You Were Strong Enough To Live It.”

When Someone Is Diagnosed I’d Like To Tell Them: They Are NOT Alone. Ever.

Something That Has Surprised Me About Living With An Illness Is: I Am More Confident

The Nicest Thing Someone Did For Me When I Wasn’t Feeling Well Was: Brought Me Food And A Book To Read

The Fact That You Read This List Makes Me Feel: Happy That You Care

--

--

Spoonie Sanctuary
The Spoonie Sanctuary

23 Year Old Chronic Illness Blogger Who Suffers From Interstitial Cystitis, Endometriosis, Pelvic Floor Dysfunction, Anxiety And Depression