Invisible Illness, If you have it YOU know it, but no one else does!

Spoonie Sanctuary
The Spoonie Sanctuary
5 min readNov 17, 2017
IMG_5204

An invisible illness may be one of the cruelest illnesses one can have. The person living with it always knows it’s there, but because no one else can see it, we feel we are being doubted or flat disbelieved all the time. An invisible illness is pretty much just what the name says, an illness or injury that no one can see, but believe me it’s always there! Invisible illness effects the person with it in ways you may never have imagined, we often have severe limitations like how long we can stand, sit, type, hold the phone to talk, there are no limits to the effects. Perhaps one of the most confusing aspects for those that don’t have an invisible illness and those who do is we have flares and remissions, much like a cancer patient. We’ve all met people who look completely “normal”, but as you begin to talk to them and they tell you a little about themselves you are shocked they battled cancer, autoimmune disorders, IBS, and the list goes on.

According to Wikipedia; Invisible disabilities are chronic illnesses and conditions that significantly impair the normal activities of daily living. In the United States, 96% of people with chronic medical conditions show no outward signs of their illness, and 10% experience symptoms that are considered disabling.

How do you get an invisible illness/disability? Well the answer is as varied as the number of invisible illnesses there are. How does one get cancer, Lupus, Fibromyalgia, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, Depression, Anxiety, or the scores of other invisible illnesses? No one knows. We know that there are certain things that can trigger invisible illness and there is a good probability there is a genetic predisposition for one, but it’s never the same for two people, even two with the same illnesses. Our symptoms are different, our triggering event is different, and therefore our treatment plans need to be different. You can’t treat everyone with the same illness the same way? We are all different and our bodies are different, so what works for one may not work for the other. That’s why Natural Health Care is the best way to treat an invisible illness. As Naturopath’s we combine different treatments and healing techniques; and in my case the best of what Western medicine has to offer.

How do you cure it? Well unfortunately usually there isn’t a cure, just learning to live with it and doing our best to keep it in remission is the goal. We do this in several ways, rest (and lots of it), supplements, medications, complementary treatments (i.e. Massage, Chiropractic etc.), controlling diet, environment, and stress are some of the primary ones. And some love and understanding goes a long, long way towards helping us! I have several invisible illnesses, some due to a serious auto accident I was in 12 years ago, some I had before that and they were just made much worse by the accident. Experiencing this personally has made it easier for me to help others with invisible illnesses and has helped me understand what we need most…

So what do we need most? YOU! Yes, you!! We need you to care, to help out, believe us, treat us with kindness, understanding when we have to cancel plans, etc. just because you can’t see our illness/disability doesn’t mean it’s not there! If someone has cancer, diabetes, migraine, you would never know if they didn’t tell you! You can’t see the wind, but you know it’s there!! We just want understanding, from our families, our friends, neighbors, and doctors!! Until you experience invisible illness/disability (and I pray you never do!) you can’t understand, but you can still be in our life and believe and support us! Is it really too much to ask???? Chronic Pain Supporter

Natural Treatment Options:

Natural Pain Relief

Natural Muscle Relaxers

CBD Oil worked for me and I am forever grateful I found it. For me it turned out to be the answer I was looking for. I haven’t been able to completely give up the pain pills, but going from 120 pills a month to just 30, for severe days is a miracle for me. I now only take the pain pills for extreme days, mostly the migraine days when I just need to quell the pain and go to sleep. Otherwise, I function at a level I never thought I would get back to had it not been for Cannabinoid or CBD. I’m not saying I’m back to the person I was before my injuries and illness, but I’m also not the person I was 2 years ago, walking around in a black cloud, barely functional. CBD Oil, turned out, with the combination of the other natural therapies I began, to be the answer I was seeking. I can live and on good days I can even cook dinner, work from home, and go on motorcycle rides with my husband, which for me is living compared to existing, which is what I was doing before. My health is getting better the longer I take CBD Oil, combined with other alternative therapies. I am now even able to work 4–6 hours a day from home, writing two blogs. I am even making preparations to expand my business to motivational and natural health education speaking in my local area. This is to a great extent due to CBD Oil! Go HERE for more information and/or to place an order. Article on CBD Oil.

To purchase CBD Oil.

To all those out there struggling with invisible illness/disability and trying to find a life despite it, please contact me if you need anything. I understand and I will help you in any way I can. And one more thing…take care of yourself and don’t listen to the others, they aren’t just being mean (most of the time) they just can’t understand.

DISCLAIMER: The information here is NOT medical advice. Do not institute any changes in your current health programs without consulting your Medical provider. For medical advice please consult your private physician or preferred health service provider.

Clamon Natural Health

IMG_2967

--

--

Spoonie Sanctuary
The Spoonie Sanctuary

23 Year Old Chronic Illness Blogger Who Suffers From Interstitial Cystitis, Endometriosis, Pelvic Floor Dysfunction, Anxiety And Depression