Thankful For Them

Spoonie Sanctuary
The Spoonie Sanctuary
2 min readNov 11, 2017

I had an experience tonight that really got to me, I got angry and upset and I wanted to yell.

But then I realized something. I have to be the best I can be. I have to be stronger than the words that are being thrown at me. I have to be the example of kindness. I have to try and not let words hurt me. I have to realize that I don’t know the reason behind the hurtful words, that I don’t know why they say what they do. Its MY words and MY reactions that can make it better or worse. I have to worry about ME and as hard as it is, try and be a BETTER person and rise above it all.

Oh, I’m still upset, but I realized that was exactly how I DON’T want to be. I want to be happy. I want to help others, not belittle or yell at them. I don’t want to say hurtful things and ruin someone’s night. I don’t want to make anyone feel horrible. I want to make others feel even a little bit better and tonight, I did that.

I stepped in on a situation and helped a friend who needed it. I stood up for her. I made her feel better. And I did the best I could to make the situation even just a little better for her.

Tonight really put everything in prospective for me. I can’t change anyone, but I can be strong and rise above it all. No, I’m not saying its easy. Its never easy. But its the right thing to do.

--

--

Spoonie Sanctuary
The Spoonie Sanctuary

23 Year Old Chronic Illness Blogger Who Suffers From Interstitial Cystitis, Endometriosis, Pelvic Floor Dysfunction, Anxiety And Depression