Consequence: A Passed Pawn’s Perspective

Ambika Kannu
The Sportsfete Blog
2 min readSep 26, 2019
Source: George Becker

Constant battles, daring warriors,

The supreme King stands tall

in between darks and brights

he builds a game, to enthral.

.

The Queen advances fearlessly, all along;

raves with her fiery finesse

She is explicit and never wrong.

Of strength and elegance, coalesce.

.

Obliquely moves the Bishop,

succeeding the ladder that led

to gallops over other pawns,

with the vigilant Knight leaping ahead.

.

Rook shields the vulnerable,

bold and unswerving it moves;

And the rest of us, relatively unskilled

ensure that patriotism grooves.

.

I’m the first one to walk

two squares, in a check-boxed row;

Insecure but self-effacing,

as the battle commences, with the flow.

.

Our Knight gallops forward,

the first one to decimate a pawn;

The Bishop follows suit

slaying one of ours; ambush drawn.

.

The battle, unabating so far

takes a turn for the worse;

The Knights go down, a bishop

and a Rook too died with this verse.

.

Eyeing, Her Majesty intervenes,

safeguarding, at the helm

executes her nemeses,

the ones taunting her realm.

.

His highness, now in check,

the Queen’s plot now at a halt.

In retaliation, they strike her

and down she goes, valiant.

.

Near the opponent stands I,

despondent I am of the loss.

Yet I fail to concede defeat

discreet and hidden, I stay across.

.

Advancing each square,

the eighth — I strive to reach.

Fearless, unafraid to fall

duty-bound, as I’ve always preached.

.

For I’m content to be a sacrifice

to extricate the Queen,

to claim what’s rightfully ours

satiated; for I’ve served my mean.

Source: Macrovector

This poem was written in collaboration with Sangeetha and Naman Karn.

--

--