Ahmed, P.O Box: 18–19, Memory Lane, NIT - Trichy

Run Forrest, run!

Aashiqa Jawahira
The Sportsfete Blog
17 min readAug 2, 2019

--

Yes, college athletics is flashy at times, but behind the curtains, it is difficult. As the super seniors close this chapter in their book, here are 10 beautiful accounts of their gratitude and love towards the team!

Ankita Srivastava, Team Captain, 2018-19. Works at Bhartiya City Developers, India.

Over these five years, the Athletics team has become an integral part of my life. I was never an athlete in my school life. It was only when I got drafted into my department’s Sportsfete team that I realized this was something I am good at and I liked doing it. And I haven’t looked back since.

Joining the Athletics team was one of the best decisions of my life. Although athletics is an individual event, the bonding remained as strong as other teams’. A great example of our teamwork was when I organized Sportsfete. Athletics is way too difficult to coordinate as the events outnumber the people in the team. Yet, we managed to do a great job as we worked as a team and I was glad to see the team standing united.

Even during the tournaments, each one of us was present on the ground to cheer and motivate the other team members. And it does make a lot of difference. Personally, this is the best part of the team: each and every one is there to help and support the other. The absence of a coach wasn’t a deterrent to the performance of the team- everyone punched above their weights with determination and grit. This speaks volumes about the talent our team harbors.

One with the team. Credits: Pixelbug, NIT-Trichy

I believe Athletics has taught me skills to tackle any problem in my life. Running a race is analogous to a life journey, where in a span of 10–15 seconds, one can see how to really use one’s skills to clear any obstacle and how all the hard work put in helps to become a better version of oneself when the finish line is in sight. All you need to give is that extra push to vault yourself over the limits.

No two races are same- each race makes you realize where you stand in reality and how much you need to improve. Winning or losing doesn’t matter. It’s all about the mistakes made, the lessons learnt, and goals readjusted to overcome them the next time.

I attribute the successful endeavors in my life to the insights gained from athletics. No matter wherever I go, the traits I’ve picked up through athletics will back me up in my highs and lows.

I am glad that I had such great juniors. Each and every one was highly dedicated towards their goal, and we never really had to enforce discipline as such. All we did was to show them the correct path.

Sandeep, Ahmed and Pranay, I would say these people are the reason behind the success of our team. NIT-T Athletics team has improved by leaps and bounds since I joined it four years ago- all credits to them and their hardwork towards the team. I believe the legacy will go up even further.

I wish all the juniors very best for their upcoming years. Keep your spirits always high. I have full faith in you guys, and you have it in you to do wonders. I’m really going to miss everyone. Your absence will be felt on a personal level in my life.

K. Sabarathinam. Works at Byju’s- The Learning App, India.

I was taken aback when I easily ran 10 rounds of the NSO ground while others were still struggling with 3 or 4 during our practice session for my first Sportsfete marathon. That’s exactly when I realized that I can do a great job on the track, apart from playing football. Back in school when I had struggled with my speed in football, I had taken up on building my stamina. I used to run around the 5 km-long perimeter of the famous Kukarahalli lake in Mysore for almost 3 years. Never did I realize the extent to which it had helped me build my stamina until these sessions happened. On the day of the Marathon, I stood nervously amongst some 400 participants, with a few expected winners already showing off. I remember a guy named Ramesh who was in the team back then, receiving immense support and cheer from the crowd, and I knew in an instant that he was a beast. I maintained an average pace when the race began but soon saw myself leading the pack. After a point it was just me and another guy named Aravind in the whole stretch of the road. Regardless of the temptations in me asking me to stop for a while, I kept going.

I realized I was myself an athlete in the making when I came second in that Marathon with a timing of 39 minutes and 55 seconds for 13 km.

After another 5 km marathon which I finished in 21 minutes, grabbing gold, I was called to join the team by the then captain, Praveen. I still remember my excitement and pride. He has been, and is, a huge influence, slowly correcting my mistakes, whilst still completely letting me be myself. With the farewell of his batch, it was nice to see the next batch take up the responsibility so passionately. The team brought great results under Girish and even more better ones under Sandeep. I’ve seen the team flourish throughout the 5 years I spent in college, and I wish the best for them. I’m hoping to recover soon from an injury that has caused me to stop running for now, and get back in time for the Alumni Cup.

Dhanaraaj Raghuveer, studies at The University of Warwick, England

I believe that this team has always had a tremendous influence on me, especially in helping me learn self discipline and team spirit. For me, the fondest of memories will always be my first year’s Udghosh(IIT-Kanpur’s Sports Festival), where I forged everlasting friendships with my fellow batchmates. It was fun to hangout with Sandeep, Kaka, Ahmed and others. And of course, not to forget, my first year’s Inter-NIT too which bestowed upon me with some of the best memories with my seniors- Akshay, MJ and Srikanth Singh. I am more than thankful and indebted to my then captain, Praveen Prabhakar, who was idolized by everyone in the team, especially my batchmates.

Unfortunately, I had to quit the team in my second year due to an ACL injury. But the team had already taught me a lot of values by then.

Athletics is more than just running sub-11 or 11.5 seconds. It’s about pushing yourself beyond what you think your limits are.

I am indeed going to incorporate Athletics in my future, though I may not be doing it as professionally as I was once doing it.

Karthikeyan, studies at TU Delft, Netherlands.

If there is one place in college that would allow me to relax irrespective of any situation, it would the NSO ground and gallery above PD Office. Endless rounds in the tracks and never ending Core workouts in the gallery with my team will always occupy a special place in my heart.

From where our team was in my first year to where we are now, we have come a long way. From just winning a few medals to aiming for the Overall trophy, I couldn’t be more proud of the team and the improvement we have shown over the past few years.

Coupled with the intense drills administered by the then captain, Praveen Prabhakar, in our first year, he also strived to teach us everything and anything he knew about the sport. “Screw Us and Treat Us” was always his way of handling. I learned the benefits of taking that extra stride, going for that extra mile under him. He is one of the few people I have know in college who believes in the potential everyone has got. It was through him that we learned how to handle ourselves. We idolized him.

From then on, the successive captains: Christo, Girish, Ahmed and now Sandeep, everyone has always pushed the team to greater heights.

I will miss the train journeys we had together while traveling to and back from a tournament- the gossip, the chatters and finally the search for food as a pack that has always hunted together. Pranay’s biryani from Nagpur station was always a treat for us.

And finally, our dearest juniors. They are the main reason to what the team has been able to achieve in recent years. If not for our own sake, we would hit the ground everyday for the theirs, for their improvement and growth to set the standards right. Their love, respect and sincerity towards the team is commendable. I wish each and every one of them all the best for their future endeavors. And I hope they would bring the Overall trophy to our college from all the tournaments.

After graduation I’ll be flying abroad for my Masters in Structural Engineering at TU Delft in Netherlands. Though I may not be able to run in tournaments in future, I would never stop running because every mile is worth my while :)

Meghna Narayanan, studies at IIT Madras, India.

I wasn’t taken aback at my schoolmate’s jolt of disbelief, when I told her I was on my way to an athletics tournament. For one, I was someone who never even visited the school ground, let alone running on the tracks. It was after winning a bronze medal in my first year’s Sportsfete relay that I felt a spark ignite inside me. Following this came what I’d call the turning point of my life- bronze medal in 1500m in third year’s Sportsfete. Feeling a thirst to prove something to myself, I decided to go for the team inductions in my final year. Although I got cold feet right before the inductions, wondering if I’d make a fool out of myself, I managed to get through the trials and into the team.

Being an introvert, I thought the team would have some reservations for acceptance, since many of them had been a part of it for at least 2 years. But the acceptance, strength and support I was bestowed with were overwhelming. They eventually became my family.

A bond set in stone. Picture credits: Pixelbug, NIT-Trichy

Though I could attend only one tournament with the team, I think I had the best time with them. I found the tiring journeys and challenging atmospheres which I could face together with such a strongly bonded team really exciting.

Running is my salvation. It gives me strength to fight the odds. I learnt that a small miracle can turn the tables, so it’s always better to give your all and never give up. I shall incorporate this value that I learnt from this team, forever in my life.

Mukil Prasath, studies at TU Delft, Netherlands

With Athletics having been a part of me ever since my school days, I knew what I had to do exactly to occupy myself and get adapted to the new atmosphere when I stepped into college — join the Athletics team of NITT. Unfortunately, I failed to make it into the team; going down with fever during my selection trials. Thanks to Ahmed, my then hostel mate, I went forward to try for the team a second time. Luckily, this time I was selected alongside Pranay for sprints and my college life hasn’t been the same since.

I owe it to my teammates who always motivated me during our practice sessions and helped me improve my timing by pointing out mistakes and correcting my running action. The support was never restricted to the field, for it was the same team who encouraged me to win the position of NITTFest Organizing Head and supported me when I had to take time off to prepare for my higher studies.

Among the many memories that the team has gifted me with, the most memorable one for me would be the IIT-Kanpur tournament of 2017, during my 3rd year. Going for the tournament with a completely new team and winning 8 medals out of the 18 for NIT-T changed everything. It also stands out in my memory lane, as I ran my last race representing NIT-T in the same tournament.

The NIT-T Athletics Team at IIT-Kanpur, 2017

The unique bond we shared with one another over the days has helped me to clearly distinguish this team from the many others I’ve been a part of in college. To me, this one always seemed more like a family.

I’m definitely going to miss sharing the tracks with this amazing team, but when life offers a tough choice like this, we are left with no options but to accept it and move forward for the better. I’m glad that the team has still got a magnificent set of juniors, who will be captained by Prashant and Reon. They do have a bright future ahead. I’m hoping to come back to NIT-T for an Alumni race and run with Ahmed, Sandeep and Pranay once again to even up that farewell race with the juniors. I shall remember the team values, keep running and stay active to keep myself stress free, while I pursue my Masters in Civil Engineering at TU Delft.

Prithviyashini, works at Kanshan Architects, Chennai, India.

I happened to be a part of the Athletics team incidentally, but nevertheless it has helped me in a lot of amazing ways ever since, especially in staying socially active. I got to meet a lot of people, with whom train journeys and tournaments have become memories to treasure. I’ve always witnessed the team pitching in so much effort for the individual as well as overall team well being and strength. Even though I was a part of the team only for a short span, it was a great experience and has helped me grow into a stronger person.

I’m grateful towards my team mates for helping me bring out the sportsman in me, for being my second family and all opportunities that has taught me to grow from failures.

Pranay Bambarde, works at JP Morgan Chase and Co., India.

Being an ardent fan of football, it was initially the football team that I wanted to be a part of. But our football team was blessed with extraordinary players and sadly I could not make it (not sad about it anymore however). My first year flashed by on the field doing nothing but playing football. It was on one such day that Ahmed walked up to me and asked me to give a shot at the Athletics team.

I enrolled for the inductions and I’m grateful to Ahmed till date, for that day, my life had finally taken an interesting turn. I no longer ran around aimlessly as I had something worthy of doing every evening, being a part of a team, with a sense of responsibility eventually kicking into me.

In my 3rd year, as the seniors graduated and the new inductees joined the family, the familiar communication gap persisted, almost slackening the bond. It was then that our captain, Girish, put his best foot forward and became the glue holding the team together. We were a team that wasn’t known for its performances, and tournament after tournament we began doubting our abilities. But Girish, just like our seniors before him, believed in us and helped us realize our potential, thus prodding us towards our dreams.

From a tally of 12 medals in my second year, we were at 29 medals in my third year with NIT-Trichy bagging the overall runners up position in Revel’18 Manipal.

The team of 2016 at IIT-BHU (Girish’s favourite trip!)

After Girish, when the responsibilities were not so delicately bestowed upon four shoulders; Sandeep, Ankita, Ahmed and me, reality struck that we had big shoes to fill. From learning new exercises after classes to pushing juniors towards proper training, we were soon gearing up for the tournaments leaving the delicate boundaries of our comfort zone to achieve something big. Spardha’18 of IIT-BHU saw NIT-T finally break its relay race curse of coming fourth. Our medal tally soared to 16 in such a big tournament. From barely winning medals to being so close to the overall championship and getting placed second overall with a medal tally of 16, I couldn’t have been more proud of the team. The team also showed their hardwork off by bagging the overall runners up trophy with 13 medals in the Inter-NIT tournament at NIT Warangal.

This journey would’ve been impossible without Sandeep and Ahmed, my support pillars, Girish, Mani, Christo, Abha, Shyam, BBR and every other senior that taught us to be good sportspersons. And finally, all my batch mates and juniors who made this team a family; a family that I will never forget, one that will never let me down.

From teaching me the true meaning of hard work and understanding what it actually means to be a team player, to helping me become who I am today, this team has had a huge impact in my life.

But the job is yet to be done. That overall championship trophy is still not ours. But now that we’ve shown what we are capable of, I believe it’ll soon be home. The responsibilities are now on very reliable shoulders - Prashant and Reon. I know they will make our dream come true.

The best part of being in the sports contingent are the unforgettable train journeys during tournaments. Our team’s tradition of sharing each one’s life story (not to forget Ahmed’s 2 hours long one), the biryani wars, crazy fights — it was just in the right proportions, making every tournament memorable. And I’m gonna miss the team and all of those moments terribly.

Pyramid of success.

My passion for Athletics has become like a burning ember whose flames can never be doused. I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to continue running like before, but I sure am looking forward to the sports events that my company conducts for the employees in rare occasions for I’m sure that the team experience is going to come in handy at that time.

Sandeep Kumar, Team Captain, 2018-19, works at Neptunus Power Plant, Mumbai, India

Ever since I was inducted into the Athletics team by Praveen and Anisha, the then captains, it’s been a learning curve that has taught me numerous values in life, the most important ones being perseverance and self-confidence. From being just passionate, to pushing myself to stay focused, respecting time and living the moments where my hardwork paid off well, I’ve witnessed myself grow as a person from the first practice session to the last.

Picture credits: Pixelbug, NIT-Trichy

It was an honor for me, being the captain of the team. I’ve had a fabulous journey that has offered me a fulfilling experience along with professional and personal benefits, for which I shall be ever grateful to my team.

I hope I was able to share my knowledge with them on and off the field. As a captain, I couldn’t have asked for a team that’s more understanding. I’m sure that they are going to achieve greater heights and bring laurels to the college in future. I’ll always count each and everyone in the team, if I was ever asked to count my blessings in life. Everything about the team, the NSO ground, the tracks and pits, the practice sessions, meetings, trials, tournaments, train journeys, team dinners and trips are always going to stay close to my heart. This team has taught me to deal with hardships, raise my own bar and believe in sweat and glory.

I’m happy to see the level of commitment in my juniors and I wish them nothing but the best for their endeavours. This team is indeed the best one could ever ask for.

Ahmed Hasan, Sports Secretary, 2018-19, works at Raam Hyundai, Hubli, India.

Athletics has shaped me into the person that I am now. I managed to join the team in my second week of college and I’ve never really looked back.

Praveen, the guy who took me into the team, is someone who I still look up to and is probably the first person who comes to my mind when I’m in need of advice. I was never close to being the best when it came to athletics back in school. I remember participating on the sports day and that would be it. But here in college, it is more of a process. You turn up for practice at 5.30 PM for 6 days a week, the punctual and the best performing ones getting to go for tournaments.

The best part about the team is the competition itself. You step onto the tracks and take a look at the finish line once before settling into the blocks. You look up to the skies, and then take one quick look at your team before getting your shoulders over the starting line. After that it is all you. I can still feel my adrenaline rush as I type this. I’d give anything to do it all over again.

Embracing the Men’s Runners Up Trophy with pride- Revels, Manipal 2018

As a team, we strongly believed in a few rules, of which punctuality and impartiality were the most important ones. These helped us to come a long way, from winning a couple of medals to fighting for overall championships. I think it’s because of the team’s belief in these core values and the hardwork that we have managed to pull ourselves through the tough times we had to endure.

Athletics has become such a big part of my life in these last 4 years that I cannot imagine bringing it all to a halt now. I would like to think that I can keep this going but then it’s just going to be just me, running for myself. I’ll miss having the team being around me.

The one thing that I’d like to tell everyone reading this article is that we will always have several things to complain about when we are in college. Once you leave, you only remember the places and the people you’ve got special memories with, and you are gonna treasure those for life. Enjoy your life in college and make as many memories as you can.

It’s time to pass the real baton…

I found myself amidst a mix of emotions after being declared the captain of the team, feeling extremely happy on one side, and freaking out about the responsibilities on the other. But I know for a fact that with Prashant by my side, it’s going to be a cakewalk, analyzing the strength and weaknesses and coming up with strategies to improve the standards of the team. With our extremely talented juniors, and the blessings left over us by our seniors who lead us in the right direction while still providing all the freedom and space, I feel that the structure of our team can be well orchestrated. An important aspect I’d like to incorporate would be a well structured workout schedule, which will prove instrumental to our chances of getting closer to the overall trophy. Looking forward to days of better teamwork and fun :)

Reon John, Team Captain 2019-20

I’m glad to see the rise in the number of medals we’ve won over the years, for it clearly shows how every team member has learnt from their mistakes and changed for the better. Our main focus this year is to further increase the medal count and grab the Championship trophy. We also have been challenged by our seniors to take over the Inter-NIT Championship. Being appointed as the captain for the year, I’d like to ask my team to participate with full spirit and sportsmanship, to keep learning from their mistakes and move forward, as winning or losing is not the objective of an athlete, rather the energy of participation is. I hope we’ll be able to do our best and fulfill our seniors’ hopes on us.

Prashant Kumar, Team Captain 2019-’20

--

--