The Mentor & Mentee Perspective

The SPOTT
The SPOTT
Published in
3 min readOct 17, 2017
“From my experience with the SPOTT Program, I can truly say that it was worth the risk”

As we prepare to open applications for the 2018 Mentorship Program, we wanted to share the stories from a mentor and mentee that found value in our program.

The Mentor’s Perspective by James Devers

Having had numerous mentors in my life, be they teachers, coaches, men of faith, and colleagues, as well as having participated in various mentorship programs, I completely understand and appreciate the importance of mentoring. The knowledge, experience and advice I gained have forever impacted my life and helped me to navigate life’s challenges and opportunities. Consequently, when Akila, my daughter, approached me to be a SPOTT mentor, I immediately agreed to participate.

Since being a part of the SPOTT Mentorship Program and matched with Avron Bachan, the experience has been rewarding and enjoyable. The “Meet Your Match Launch” on January 13, 2017, where I gained a better understanding of the Program and was matched with Avron, was well organized and engaging. The workshops, follow-up telephone calls from the SPOTT Team and SPOTT Newsletter were excellent mechanisms and tools, which were most helpful to ensure we were engaged.It has been a great experience mentoring Avron. I believe that I have been able to provide him with advice and guidance that will hopefully help him develop personally and professionally.

Given that an underlying tenet of mentoring is the mutual desire to develop and grow, I have also learned from Avron because of his mature, well-grounded, considerate and diligent nature. We have had the opportunity to attend concerts together, grab lunch, chat on the telephone, and communicate via WhatsApp message. I am confident that he will be successful in all his endeavours.

I encourage others to participate in the SPOTT Mentorship Program.

The Mentee’s Perspective by Avron Bachan

“Look at a man the way he is and he will only become worse, but look at him as if he were what he could be, then he becomes what he should be.” This has been the foundation of my past mentorship programs, of which, I have always taken the role of being a mentor. However, when I saw the advertisement by SPOTT earlier this year, I was transitioning in my professional life and realized the need for someone to guide me through this change. Hence, I took advantage of the opportunity of being a Mentee with this program.

At the “Meet Your Match Launch”, I was fortunate to be matched with Mr. James Devers. Over the course of time, we were able to meet a few times for lunch, attended a few concerts and an occasional movie, coupled with phone conversations and Whatsapp messaging. From these meetings and conversations, my growth as a Business Professional exploded. I was exposed to new insights and the leadership qualities that I needed to run business and other related organizations successfully. Mr. Devers has a wealth of knowledge and experience that is only amplified by his humility.

From my experience with the SPOTT Program, I can truly say that it was worth the risk. The program and events are well organized, engaging and at best, beneficial. I will always be an advocate for the need of someone, especially a young person to be under some form of mentoring and SPOTT certainly has the program needed to meet a social need.

Huge thanks to all executive members of SPOTT, participants, stakeholders and especially Mr. Devers for their willingness and dedication in making this program a successful one for me.

--

--

The SPOTT
The SPOTT

The SPOTT is a development based organization which emphasizes building connections with Trinidad and Tobago students and professionals across the globe.