How does change happen?

Heather Caplan, RD
3 min readDec 30, 2015

--

At some point in your life you changed something — maybe big or small or somewhere in between, but either way the change was significant to you. It required learning a new skill, incorporating it most days, and creating a new norm. In hindsight, you’re proud of yourself and you wouldn’t revert to your old ways. Something in you feels different, and you want to keep it that way.

You look back and wonder what took you so long; you look forward and wonder what else is possible.

I used to think I could never run farther than 2 miles, then I joined a running group and after a few years I signed up for a marathon (26.2 miles). I used to think I could never understand vegetarians, then I watched Food, Inc and haven’t had meat in over five years. Insert whatever thing you think you can’t do, or change, or possibly imagine, and then a time when you did, you changed, you thought differently. It gives you an entirely new perspective!

How do people make changes?

When I started working at Spright we dove right into figuring out a way to help people change their habits and become healthier, in some way. We didn’t want to isolate anyone, or rely on any given form of teaching or learning. We wanted to acknowledge that it helps to dabble in a variety of things before deciding what works best for you, and that there’s no one solution to improving health. We wanted to create an environment that fostered a sense of community, because the power of being surrounded by like-minded people is invaluable. We wanted to create a space for experts to share their knowledge, because human connection is important. Most of all, we wanted to help you help yourself, catering to the variety of things you need to have in place for a big shift in your lifestyle to happen.

How did I learn to change?

I think about how I learned to cook more plant-based meals, how to make tofu in a way that makes it taste like food (to me), the various websites and books I’ve browsed for inspiration, recipes, and restaurants with decent menu options. I think about what it took to get me to run from mile 1 to mile 26, and what motivated me the most along the way. I think about the people I’ve coached and worked with as a Dietitian, and what resonated most with them. I turn to experts in nutrition and fitness so that we have a variety of creative and knowledgeable minds to create curriculums and communities.

How can we help you change?

This is all to say that we are doing it differently at Spright. We aren’t here to simply deliver you a package of information with a hearty “Good luck!” or a training plan with a motivational “Run strong!”. We don’t expect your changes to happen overnight with just one of our articles, and we don’t expect you to learn new information and feel different right away. We want to be realistic, welcoming, humble, honest, supportive, and inspiring. We want to teach you so that you can do it on your own from here on out, but we also want you to know that it’s okay to need a network to feel a sense of accountability and motivation. At the end of the day, we want you to feel good about what you’re doing and how you’re doing it.

Meet: The Spright App

Edited: We now host them on our app for expecting and hew parents, to help them prepare for and survive parenthood in the early stages. We help prepare them for what’s to come, and get through what’s happening every day. Join us!

--

--

Heather Caplan, RD

Non-diet dietitian. Runner who prefers trails to roads, exploring to settling, and champagne to water. Podcast: RD Real Talk. Co-founder @lane9project.