FUNNY OR NOT

He Said “Stupid People Put Me Where I Am Today”

I think I know what he meant

A very large shelf of messily arranged books
Photo by S O C I A L . C U T on Unsplash

The man who said “Stupid people put me where I am today” had an executive job at a major candy manufacturer. He was speaking to his son, my erstwhile partner at the time, and was responding to his son’s disparaging comment about “stupid people”.

I’m not sure if he meant that people who buy candy are of lesser intelligence or simply that if everyone had the same intelligence and skills, there would have been much more competition for his well-paying job. In that sense, I guess anyone who has had any success in life might agree with him.

I didn’t. I learned early on that smart and stupid can be in the same milkshake and are not always well blended. Whether you get a taste of the chocolate, the vanilla, or the strawberry can determine how you label someone. It would be smarter for you to take a few more sips before you decide.

I had mixed feelings toward the man himself. Obviously, he possessed intelligence; he could not have obtained the position he had without it. On the other hand, he was instructing us to change some core policies of the business, policies that had been very successful for us. Both his son and I thought those changes were, well, dumb.

--

--

Anthony (Tony/Pcunix) Lawrence 👀
E³ — Entertain Enlighten Empower

Retired Unix Consultant. I write tech and humor mostly but sometimes other things. See my Lists if your interests are specific.