MY TIRED OLD BRAIN

Keeping My Aging Noggin Sharp

Will I live long enough to run out of things to learn?

I exercise to keep my body healthy and am trying to do the same for my aging brain.

How do I know it is aging? Because I regularly find myself waving my hand around in the refrigerator or pantry trying to remember what I wanted. That’s additional physical exercise, I guess, but I prefer Apple Fitness+.

One of the things I like to do for my brain is use Duolingo to learn Spanish. I’ve done that for years but only got serious about it recently. I’ve racked up over 1100 consecutive days as of today. Supposedly learning another language makes new pathways in your brain and helps you stay sharp.

I also play words With Friends and do the crossword puzzles in Apple News+.

It hasn’t helped. I still stand stupidly staring at the insides of pantries, refrigerators, and closets.

Recently I discovered Khan Academy. They have Math courses. Free Math courses!

--

--

Anthony (Tony/Pcunix) Lawrence 👀
E³ — Entertain Enlighten Empower

Retired Unix Consultant. I write tech and humor mostly but sometimes other things. See my Lists if your interests are specific.