HEALTH

New Exercise Routines For The New Year

Muscular gorilla
Photo by Y S on Unsplash

I haven’t made a New Year’s Resolution in years. That’s not because I’ve already given up smoking, drinking, unhealthy food and who knows what else. Nor is it that I see no improvements I could make.

No, it’s because there’s a rule that says resolutions must be made during the first minute of January first and I can’t stay up that late.

You think that’s wrong? I bet you have broken many resolutions. Think back, how many of those were made in minute two or later?

See? Resolutions made at other times never stick.

One thing I need no resolve to accomplish is exercise. That I will do always, and have done so for years. This past year, Apple Fitness+ was my thang, and it is fun and effective, but it has been getting a little boring, so this year I’m returning to doing my own exercises and using Apple Fitness as a fill-in when I don’t reach my daily goal.

Why wouldn’t I reach my goal? Because to avoid boredom, I schedule a number of sets for every three days, some every other day, and a few daily. This means any given day is a surprise for me as some of the three days match up with the every other days, all added to the ever days, and this conflation makes an exhausting workout. When the stars align…

--

--

Anthony (Tony/Pcunix) Lawrence 👀
E³ — Entertain Enlighten Empower

Retired Unix Consultant. I write tech and humor mostly but sometimes other things. See my Lists if your interests are specific.