HEALTH AND LOVE

Some Tips For Home Caregivers

Making their and your life easier

A motion sensor on a night table
Personal photo by author

My wife is not severely disabled, but she does need help from me, so I have found several hacks that help both of us.

The first one is visible in the main photo above. It’s a little white motion sensor that I can easily program to alert me to motion in our bedroom after I get up and my wife is still asleep. I can also turn the alert on when she takes a nap or is sick.

On most days, all this does is alert me when she gets up. That tells me it is time to finish getting her breakfast ready and walk down to our bathroom to ask if she needs any other help right then.

You can probably imagine other uses. One of these near every exit door would be helpful if you are caring for someone suffering from Alzheimer’s. While I have no need to see what my wife is doing, you could also use an inexpensive smart video camera that would alert you to motion and let you see why it was triggered.

Falls

My poor wife has fallen twenty times during the past five years, breaking bones with several of her tumbles. I have been with her for most of these accidents and can see or hear what has happened, but she also wears an Apple Watch with Fall Detection enabled. She had to use that…

--

--

Anthony (Tony/Pcunix) Lawrence 👀
E³ — Entertain Enlighten Empower

Retired Unix Consultant. I write tech and humor mostly but sometimes other things. See my Lists if your interests are specific.