These Filter Words Make Your Writing Look Amateurish

How to make your writing a better reading experience

Malky McEwan
E³ — Entertain Enlighten Empower

--

Photo by Alexandra Fuller on Unsplash

Like most writers, I want to write better. Faster.

Quality in quantity.

I’ve read many books on writing. Yet, I continue to buy more. I’m working my way through my latest one, and it is brilliant. I’ll surely write about it when I am finished.

My problem is it can take a while for the information to percolate through my brain. It’s an age before it infuses my thinking and dribbles onto the page.

I don’t feel I have learned it completely until I have used it without being conscious of the steps involved. Experienced drivers will know what I am talking about. They can drive from A to B and not remember anything of their journey.

I adore it when I read back something I have written and know the rhetoric has flowed naturally and without reference. It is only then I can tell the lesson has filtered through.

Many concepts, nuances, subtleties, and refinements take a vigorous and determined effort to fully understand, appreciate, and employ.

Sometimes, writing advice is startlingly obvious. It hits me in the face like the author slapped me with a wet flounder. Like when I learned about filter words.

--

--