HOME WORKOUTS

This Is My Toughest Home Workout

It burns, it burns!

Picture of dumbbells of various weights on my floor
My dumbbells and a kettle ball

I am not an exercise expert, just an old man who works out at home. Anyone thinking about doing this workout should ask their doctor or at least someone with training.

That said, the picture above shows my dumbbells and a kettlebell. When I was a much younger man, I had a full set of barbell weights, but those took up too much space in our down-sized home and would be much heavier than my joints can stand now.

The dumbbells are fifteen lbs, 10, 5, 4, 3, 2 and 1. The kettlebell was something I bought on Amazon that would weigh 5 lbs if filled with sand but is a little over 14 lbs because I filled it with some duplicate small dumbbells I had kicking around.

I use the kettlebell for squats, swinging it downward to add to the squat intensity. I use the dumbbells for several exercises, but the most difficult is the set of overhead presses I do every three days.

We have a well-equipped gym in our retirement community. I haven’t used it since pre-COVID days. Why would I want to be around people breathing hard?

I currently have 24 different mini-workouts that I spread out over the week, doing some every day, some every two days, some every three, and a few only once a week. It all takes…

--

--

Anthony (Tony/Pcunix) Lawrence 👀
E³ — Entertain Enlighten Empower

Retired Unix Consultant. I write tech and humor mostly but sometimes other things. See my Lists if your interests are specific.