NOT GONNA HAPPEN

We Can Never Replace Cash With a Digital Currency

Too many obstacles

The image shows a close-up of a gold coin, specifically the American Gold Eagle. On the obverse side, it features a rendition of Lady Liberty holding a torch and an olive branch, with a depiction of the Capitol building in the left background. The word “LIBERTY” is inscribed along the top edge, and the year of minting, which appears to be “2014”, is visible at the bottom right. This design is a famous work by sculptor Augustus Saint-Gaudens and is highly regarded in the numismatic community.
A gold bullion coin

I live in a world of digital money. I mostly pay by credit card because I love that cash back. Very few bills are pulled directly from my bank. I don’t buy anything with cash.

I usually carry less than forty dollars in cash for tips or just in case some merchant’s credit systems are wonky. For me, abolishing cash and switching to digital currency would be painless as digital transactions only need a working internet.

Whoah! Can you imagine the mess if a solar flare took down the global internet and we couldn’t buy anything? Well, yeah, but it would be a mess anyway. How much cash do most of us have hanging around? Whatever it is, it wouldn’t last long. Most of us would probably be out of everything but what’s in the penny jar by the end of day. There would also be bills we couldn’t pay: should I fly to California to pay my Apple One subscription with cash?

That seems a little inefficient, though there’s probably no way Apple could know I hadn’t paid it and if the internet is down, what am I paying for?

So a USDC (United States Digital Currency) wouldn’t upset me. Dumping cash and going full digital has advantages. A big one is that a lot of crime happens with cash. A USDC…

--

--

Anthony (Tony/Pcunix) Lawrence đź‘€
E³ — Entertain Enlighten Empower

Retired Unix Consultant. I write tech and humor mostly but sometimes other things. See my Lists if your interests are specific.