Who do You Think is the Better Public Speaker, Biden or Trump?

Surprising results from a nationwide survey

--

Photo by DDP on Unsplash

YouGov, a global public opinion company, recently asked its 15 million subscribers to answer a question about whether Biden or Trump is the better public speaker. When I answered the questionnaire, I discovered that ….

Wait.

First, I’ll let you guess how many subscribers voted for Biden and how many for Trump.

My guess, before I answered the questionnaire, was:

  • 50 percent of the participants would vote for Biden because he’s calm, focused, and can quote facts from memory. These voters would not care that Biden occasionally mumbles and grumbles.
  • 40 percent would vote for Trump because he’s like a strongman. These voters would not care that he is irrational, unfocused, and often states “alternative facts.”
  • 10 percent would vote “no difference” or “not sure,” leaving me to wonder why they would participate in the questionnaire at all.

I answered the question. Biden was my choice, as I’m sure you could guess based on what I’ve written so far. Then, I compared my answer with the results of the questionnaire, below.

--

--

Katharine Valentino
E³ — Entertain Enlighten Empower

Still trying for the words to help us do & feel good things. Owner of Reviews for Medium Featured Books. I write life stories & about politics / social issues.