MOUTH BREATHERS

Why Is My Mouth So Dry at Night?

Do I need a physicist to ‘splain this to me?

View of a desert
Photo by Ganapathy Kumar on Unsplash

My wife and I both experience uncomfortable dry mouth symptoms at night while we sleep. I know all the reasons why, I know how to prevent it, but what I don’t understand is why.

First, let’s get how we prevent it out of the way so if that is all that brought you here, you can quickly get back to your normal life. We fix it by opening our bedroom window. How much we open it depends on how damn cold it is and how much wind will be blowing, but we always open it even if it is just barely cracked.

Now let’s get into all the other things we’ve tried.

Biotene and similar products

They work for a few hours at best.

Mouth Taping

The idea here is to force nasal breathing. You can buy bespoke solutions at Amazon or you can use plain bandage tape from your drugstore. Both will encourage breathing through your nose and both can be annoying and violently ripped off in the middle of the night. Either way, we still woke up with dry mouth. Not quite as dry, but still annoying, and it leaves a bad taste.

Humidifier

--

--

Anthony (Tony/Pcunix) Lawrence 👀
E³ — Entertain Enlighten Empower

Retired Unix Consultant. I write tech and humor mostly but sometimes other things. See my Lists if your interests are specific.