Why the Indie Publishing Model Works for Me

I never thought it would, but now I’m a believer

Nick Owchar
E³ — Entertain Enlighten Empower
5 min readJul 10, 2024

--

Credit: David Shay/Wikimedia Commons

For a long time, I dreamed of the red-carpet New York City publishing experience for my forthcoming novel. Then I went with a Midwest indie publisher instead. Friends of mine were surprised.

“Huh?” they said. “What happened to getting an agent and the whole New York publishing thing?”

“Well,” I told them, “it wasn’t like I didn’t try.”

For a year (at least) I queried agents. I researched their online wish lists and visited my local bookstore to identify new books similar to mine and who represented them. I drafted pitch letters and always made sure to include something uniquely connected with that particular agent in the letter (all the pro tips say agents hate to receive generic pitches).

I did everything I could think of. I leveraged my past career with the Los Angeles Times. I name-dropped.

The result?

Imagine the sound of crickets softly chirping on a summer evening.

Or I received weird rejection letters that complimented the quality of the writing and storytelling before adding, alas, “Your book isn’t for me.”

Ok, cool. The compliment part was supposed to be a consolation, I guess. It felt more like boilerplate (probably was).

But there was a silver lining to my discouraging Year of the Queries. I did something more valuable than the actual agent hunt. What was that? I took a hard look at myself, my expectations, and why I write.

When I did that, everything changed and, as corny as it may sound, my publisher appeared.

I was drawn to an indie press that will launch this fall and that belongs to an old associate who expressed interest in my book a long time ago. She had been one of my beta readers back then. She’d given me some great feedback; what’s more, I’d felt she read the manuscript and understood it. She was (still is) a working writer peddling her own manuscripts and publishing pieces in various journals. We kept in touch as we both pursued our literary goals.

Not long ago, when we were on the phone for a periodic check-in, she told me about her new press and out of the blue asked to publish my novel as part of the launch. Her offer took me completely by surprise.

And I was thrilled. I accepted. No hesitation.

So What Changed?

The simple fact is, the agent waiting game is tiring. And tiresome. A writer friend gave me some very sage advice when I announced I was starting the search for an agent. He used just two words: Be patient.

He’s right. There are many Cinderella stories in publishing about overnight and unexpected successes, and they’re very seductive. But the majority of experiences aren’t like that.

I realized that what mattered more to me was finding a real partner on my publishing journey.

The agents I contacted didn’t want that. I thought they did. They sure sent mixed signals. Some included feedback in their rejection letters, and that confused me. I thought, “Wait a minute! They wouldn’t offer this criticism if they weren’t interested!!”

So I wrote back to several and said I would be happy to collaborate with them. I thought this made perfect sense. I assured them I wasn’t a diva. Years and years of working at the Times had squeezed the diva out of me. I figured I’d be a dream client. Collegial, hardworking, seasoned. But the eventual reply was always the same: no thanks. They weren’t interested.

Uh, so why bother with the feedback?

More than that, why would I listen to someone who isn’t willing to commit to me? Dumb.

I was irritated, but it all worked out. By the time this happened, I already knew what I wanted. It wasn’t that.

The Spirit of Traditional Publishing

When I talked to my future publisher and she made her offer, I realized I found my mighty team of champions (regardless of the press’ teeny-tiny size). They’re readers. Lovers of the written word. They care. Amazing.

A long time ago in a galaxy far away, this kind of literary advocacy wasn’t exceptional, it was the norm. Publishers typically took writers under their wing and nurtured them through several books until they were successful (or not). Those days are long gone. The big firms don’t have the time or budgets for that anymore.

I was reminded of this situation by an article I read recently by Walter Rhein. He’s a writer I’ve enjoyed on Medium (check him out). He says in one of his pieces that the traditional publishing model is dead. That piece has a very jarring, unsettling title: “Why Traditional Publishing is Dead and Buried and Will Never Return.”

That title may suggest it’s a dreary piece, but it’s not. He talks about the opportunities that self-publishing and digital options have created for writers. I agree with him. My friend’s indie press and so many indie presses out there are using some of the same tools and distribution channels that self-published authors use.​ The journeys are very similar.

In fact, I probably would’ve considered taking the self-publishing route if my publishing situation hadn’t worked out — and I know, according to Malky McEwan, another fine writer I’ve had the chance to encounter on Medium, this route comes with its challenges, too.

Final Thoughts

I don’t like speaking in total absolutes. I know there are exceptions to what I just said above. I know some writers out there are experiencing great collaborations with agents and publishing houses. I’m happy for them. I wish it was true for more of us.

The main takeaway from this piece is something pretty simple that I said earlier. You just need to get clear on why you write. Why is it so important to you? How you answer that question will affect all of your expectations​ and decisions.

If you’ve been fantasizing about your success for a long time, your answer could change that fantasy. It did for me, and suddenly the notion of publishing with an indie (or self-publishing) seemed so clear. I felt elated. I felt confident.

I hope the same will be true for you.

****

Friends, by the time of my next post, I should have received edits from the copyeditor and sent the revised manuscript back to the publisher. I’ll give you my full report on that experience next time.

Until then, onwards!

--

--

Nick Owchar
E³ — Entertain Enlighten Empower

Novelist, former L.A. Times editor and critic, contributor to the Los Angeles Review of Books, author of the forthcoming novel "A Walker in the Evening."