Hello in there, Hello

Dave Mattingly
The Spyglass
4 min readNov 2, 2015

--

This story was adapted from a previous posting. It was shared at “In Our Own Words” at the Veterans Administration Medical Center, Washington, DC.

Since 9/11 it has become a habit of many Americans to express their thanks when they meet a service member or a veteran. “Thank you for you service.” Many vets, including me, have expressed how the expression often comes across as empty or without meaning, just empty. Whenever I meet a vet, especially the few that are older than me, I always try to engage in conversation; ask them about where they served, what they did. Often, I just ask how they are doing. Usually, I see their eyes light up and the salt rise in their blood and I know I am in for a sea story.

The tip for me to engage in conversation is often the blue ball cap with a ship’s name embroidered across the front, especially if it is faded and showing years of wearing it at sea. (Yes, I do seem to gravitate towards fellow Sailors!)

Today I went to the Veteran’s Administration outpatient clinic for my final physical therapy appointment. Walking in the door I saw him sitting with his wife wearing a USS Oklahoma City hat (faded, and showing many years of wear). The thin elderly Sailor was sitting wearing sunglasses, khakis, and a sport shirt next to his wife.

I walked over to the couple sitting close together and holding hands in the waiting room. “So, when were you on the Oklahoma City?” He turned his head towards my voice and then I put together the sunglasses indicating the sailor had lost his sight. He sort of looked up at me, “I was on board her off of Japan when they dropped the bomb and then war was over.” His wife told me he was 89 years old.

I knew I was in the company of an American Hero, a member of the Greatest Generation!

I told him, “Well, she used to dock across from my ship, the USS Midway, but that was in the early 1970’s when she was the flagship for Commander, Seventh Fleet at Naval Base Yokosuka, Japan.”

“Well, we were in Third Fleet back then. I went on board in ’44 and got off in ’46. She was my one duty station while I was in the Navy. I was first in the Deck Department and then I went to Supply. Now supply — that was fun. Well, she’s at the bottom now, used for gunnery practice.”

I told them about my service and the sailor’s wife said, “Oh, you have seen a lot.” I looked at her and said, “Nothing compared to your husband.” About then, his name was called and he went back to see the doctor.

I was still waiting for my appointment when the couple came back in the waiting room and started walking slowly toward the exit, my new shipmate’s hand on his wife’s forearm to guide him along. I stood as they approached and reached out for his hand, clasping it and telling him how fortunate I was to meet him today and to be safe on their drive home.

The misses looked at me and thanked me for coming over and chatting with them. She said it meant a lot to him. I smiled my best sailor smile and told her it was my pleasure. He clasped my hand tight and then released it to go home.

I left the VA after my appointment knowing I had met a hero and found a new shipmate. Earlier I said I knew he was part of “The Greatest Generation” but I want to caution you that I believe, like many others, that each generation that has kept our country safe is a “Great Generation.” My service started after the Vietnam War and finished a few years after troops entered Afghanistan and Iraq. So I admit I have seen many “heroes” though I would never claim the title. I was just doing what I signed up to do as a young high school senior looking for adventure.

Last night I listened to music while trying to go to sleep as some nights it is harder than others. A ballad came across my IPad by John Prine that tells the life story of a family and the loneliness that sometimes evolves.

The song ends:

“So if you’re walking down the street sometime

And spot some ancient eyes,

Please don’t just pass ’em by and stare

As if you didn’t care, say “hello in there, hello,”

Next time you see a fellow veteran do more than thank them. Ask how they are and where they served. You will enjoy the stories! Even if they bring a tear to your eyes.

Lyrics Hello in There by John Prine available at www.azlyrics.com

Dave Mattingly is a writer and national security consultant. He retired from the U.S. Navy with over thirty years of service. He is a member of the Military Writers Guild, NETGALLEY Challenge 2015 and a NETGALLEY Professional Reader.

--

--