Learning from the Pros: Key Insights from a PR intern

Intern | The Square
The Square
Published in
2 min readJan 26, 2024

To kick off 2024 on a positive note, I had the fantastic opportunity to intern at The Square throughout the month of january.

My goal was to stay open-minded, work diligently and soak up as much experience as possible. I was welcomed into an environment that let me do just that, and it provided invaluable lessons that I will always hold dear.

1. Adaptability

One of my most significant takeaways from this month was understanding the importance of adaptability. Being able to adapt to clients, teams, and tight timelines is crucial in the world of PR. Situations change last-minute, and it’s essential to stay calm and have confidence in your abilities.

2. Teamwork

Despite expecting a more individual-oriented work style, I discovered that teamwork truly makes the dream work. Being able to depend on your peers is amazing. Working on a project with a connected group of people who support you is the best feeling, making you exponentially more productive and efficient.

3. Open Communication

I realized that teamwork and communication go hand in hand. In an area like PR, where external communication is vital, it’s interesting to see how internal communication is equally crucial. From my experience, sharing problems, proposing ideas, or asking questions was always viewed as a strength.

4. Continuous Learning

Surprisingly, I arrived at The Square with the perception that everyone knew everything about PR. I quickly realized I was mistaken. While everyone is a professional, the PR world is always changing and evolving. Because of this, you are constantly learning and growing.

5. Discovery

There’s no learning without discovery, and during this month, I was constantly challenged to explore the media world, listen to podcasts, read books and articles on both familiar and unfamiliar topics. I came to understand that you can never know too much, and that pushing yourself to understand more and more is always a great asset in PR.

As I let go of my preconceived ideas about PR, I welcome a newfound respect for the dedication, creativity, and resilience required to make waves in the world of PR. Here’s to breaking stereotypes, embracing the unexpected, and discovering the beauty in the art of communication.

Guest Article by Beatriz Calais-Pedro

--

--