Vision — Issue 03: Letter from the Editor

Emily LaFave Olson
Starter Magazine

--

Hey Starter fam,

How’s your January so far? I hope you’ve had a superb first week to this brand new year. I am currently hanging in a retirement community with my in-laws in Florida for the month. WHY ON EARTH, do you ask? ;) Not only does family matter, BUT part of my vision for 2019 is building a profitable business that I bootstrap myself. My husband Rob and I rented our portion of our home in Kauai on AirBnB, so I could stash some cash and invest in equipment and ingredients for the ice cream biz.

The future is now. Whatever future you envision with your business, you have to start with some small part of that NOW. A Yale study found that countries like Japan, China, and Norway don’t distinguish between the future and present tense in their language and it turns out they have a significantly higher savings rate. They don’t wait for some future time to save, it’s built into every decision. The linguistics of these cultures clearly drive the psychology and behavior of its people, something to keep in mind as you consider how you think about building your vision.

Speaking of shaping the way we think… My book selection this month: Becoming Supernatural: How Common People Do the Uncommon has been a complete paradigm shifter for me in understanding how the mind-body connection works to manifest your dreams.

While I kick back in Central Florida with the 55+ crowd ;), hustling while my daughter sleeps, I am taking the time to ink my vision on paper for the ice cream biz. In this issue you’ll find a few visionary founders that inspire me, a reminder to focus on WHY, and tactical to-dos to get your vision down. Sending all the good vibes your way as you kick off 2019.

In good food we trust,
- ELO

PS — You can see the full issue and all past issues at thestartermag.com and subscribe to get this little email magazine delivered to your inbox!

--

--

Emily LaFave Olson
Starter Magazine

Equalist. Entrepreneur. Food lover. Past: Co-founder, @din @foodzie. All with @roblafave my co-creator of life.