Pop Quiz, Monday with Ayesha Hilton

Art Legends
Art Legends in History
4 min readNov 22, 2019

The Pop Quiz, Monday, is a fun little exam that we love to give to savvy business owners. The examination is not a surprise, after all, since the interviewee already knew about the questions in advance. However, we can always pretend and have fun with the scenario of a young entrepreneur sitting in class nervously biting on their pencil. They are ready to take a pop quiz on a chapter that they were supposed to read the night before. Instead, they played Metroid all night on their SNES (Oops, this was me in high school). The real purpose of the pop quiz is that this is a fun way to introduce business tips from real-world experiences that you can not learn in a classroom. We want to thank our entrepreneur for being a good sport and volunteering their time to answer a few questions to help our community grow from their knowledge.

I want to introduce you to our guest today, who will be taking our Pop Quiz Monday.

1. Can you please tell everyone your name?

Ayesha Hilton

2. Tell us about your business and what you do?

I had worked for myself since 2006 when I became a single parent to a three-week-old baby. Since then, I have had many successes and many failures. And I learnt much along the way.

My mission is to support women who want to share their Soul Work with the world, have a significant impact, and make a great income (without sacrificing wellbeing and relationships). I mostly work with healers, coaches, and complementary therapists. Having studied many modalities myself, it helps me understand their businesses more.

I get really frustrated seeing so many amazing women work hard for so little money!

I support business owners with one on one mentoring and through my Blossom Success Academy, which provides mentoring, community, and training. I love being a mentor as it allows me to support people in their own growth, personally and professionally.

I also consult with businesses about their marketing and social media strategies.

3. Why did you want to become an entrepreneur?

I fell into being an entrepreneur when I became a single parent with a three-week-old baby. So, initially, I was driven by the desire to earn an income while caring for my children. As time went by, I had this yearning to express my talents and share my skills with others. I was also motivated by my love of freedom and being able to build a lifestyle business

4. What are the challenging aspects of running a business?

I love working for myself, but it has its challenges, including:

  • Shiny Object Syndrome — it’s easy to become unfocused and chase shiny objects
  • Too many ideas — I am always coming up with ideas and I can’t possibly do them all (so I have created my backburner file where I put my great ideas, and I can always come back to them)
  • The need to be consistent and show up even when you don’t feel like it (consistency has made the most significant impact on my business growth)

5. What do you love most about your job?

The freedom and flexibility I have to create what I want, schedule my time around my family commitments, and the amazing people I work with. Being an entrepreneur forces you to grow and step outside your comfort zone all the time. It’s the best form of personal growth I know. I also love my office. I have created a really beautiful space to work from.

6. How do you have fun at work (team building, pranks, etc..)?

Working for myself from home, alone, means that I have to create opportunities for connection and support. I am a member of a local mastermind group, and that helps me keep focused and have a brains trust to support me. I schedule at least one coffee date a week so that I can catch up with another entrepreneur or friends so that I am having in-person connection. And I go to networking events to connect with others.

7. What would one piece of advice that you give to a new business owner?

Show up and be consistent — even when you don’t feel like it. Consistency my sound like simple advice, but it is the biggest thing that will make the most difference to your business growth. The people who fail in business are often those who were inconsistent and not fully committed. And find a community or mentor to support you. Things get tough, and we can lose our confidence in ourselves and our business, so we need to have support.

You can learn more about our interviewee and their business by visiting them on the web: www.ayeshahilton.com.

Originally published at https://www.inboxdude.com on November 22, 2019.

--

--