TRAVEL

I Discovered An Interesting Tidbit About Living in Asia

This is definitely new to me.

Linda Ng
The Starving Tourist
3 min readNov 17, 2023

--

Hmm, I think I do need fresh groceries to make a delicious breakfast! (photo provided by Linda Ng)

I was having dinner with a friend who was visiting from Taiwan recently. We had a riveting conversation about everything from playing badminton to tasty food in Taiwan! My friend has been in Taiwan for about 2 years. Our conversation eventually led into a discussion about buying groceries and cooking at home.

Here’s the Background Grocery Routine

I buy groceries once a week and eat out about 3 times per week. There aren’t any given days for when we cook or eat out. Sometimes the day will be very busy and I won’t have time to cook. Or I’ll be super tired or simply..lazy! For the most part, I am really trying to cook more at home when I can.

When I do end up cooking 3 meals a day, we run out of food pretty quickly. For that, we might do a quick run to the grocery store mid-week to replenish some supplies. Otherwise, it’s just that one weekly run. The food stays in my fridge for up to a week until I cook it.

The interesting part of the conversation came when I asked my friend how he lost so much weight. He said it was because he walked a lot every day to buy groceries. I did a double take. I asked why he had to buy groceries every day. Maybe…

--

--