TRAVEL

Why It’s Important To Move On A Long-Haul Flight

I know you might feel lazy to move, but don’t chance it.

Linda Ng
The Starving Tourist
3 min readOct 30, 2023

--

Photo provided by Linda Ng

Don’t let your flight turn into a trip to the ER.

I recently took a long-haul flight to Asia. We are talking around 14 hours straight, sitting on the plane. You know how you feel stiff after sitting all day at work? That’s about 8 hours long or more. Think of sitting 14 hours without moving! Your body is going to cry for help.

Aside from feeling all stiff and achy, it’s actually really important to move and walk during a long-haul flight. If you sit for such a long period of time, you may develop a condition called Deep Vein Thrombosis (DVT). I’m not a medical expert, but I know that DVT can develop if you don’t move for an extended period of time. Blood clots form in your legs and potentially travel to your lungs. If this happens, you can develop another condition called a Pulmonary Embolism. The blood clots travel to your lungs and this is a dangerous condition that requires immediate medical attention.

During such a long flight, I make sure to move often. Yes, I know it’s a pain to get up ~ especially if you’re sitting in the window seat. Still, it’s something you have to do. I’d rather go through the inconvenience than…

--

--