#WhyPodcasts

Alisha Roy
The Storiyoh Gazette
5 min readApr 18, 2019

If you ever had trouble sleeping, as I do, you would know the obnoxious number of tricks and hacks that people give you so that you can somewhat resemble a dead body for a few hours.

One of these hacks was a podcast called ‘Sleepy’. The soothing voice of Otis Gray couldn’t lull me to sleep but definitely piqued my interest in the podcast universe.

My inner (and highly dominant) six year old has always equated podcasts to audiobooks, both of which I had no interest in. The sheer lack of visuals dissuaded me from turning it into a recreational activity.

I would rather watch Shahrukh Khan slay 15 goons without any weapons, or Arnab Goswami make constipated faces while interviewing than eavesdrop a pseudo-intellectual conversation, happening among random strangers through my earphones.

So, the question arises…

Why podcasts? And Why Now?

I would lay awake for hours wondering, in

— a world of easy internet access,

— a world where newspapers, magazines and news channels have become a part of our daily routine,

—a world where there is a bookstore every 5kms,

—a world that has Netflix for the lazy, and

—a world where youtube has become a battleground for attention

Why would anyone listen to a podcast? Why is the population of the United States going gung-ho over this medium? I was completely oblivious to its boom until I came across Dan Lee’s article.

To be honest, my fondness for podcasts grew as a byproduct of my insomnia. Deep into research, it dawned on me that listening to podcasts is basically habit formatting.

Things one does while listening to music can be done while listening to podcasts. Well, apart from dancing 💃💃.

I couldn’t replace all of my music supported activities with podcasts, but could often squeeze in one or two while driving, or cleaning my house or sipping a cup of tea in the morning.

Formation of any habit needs to be supported by a sense of desire.

In the case of podcasts, my desire was generated by customized and personally curated the content list. The great thing about technology is that it can read your mind and your heart. The list of recommendations is often in sync with the podcasts you listen to.

If it is of any help, here are the podcasts that got me into this routine:

A podcast for the girl boss, who isn’t afraid to shed a few tears. Unladylike like deals with issues like postpartum depression, facial hair, female friendships, and sexism. Despite the rapid progression in the mindsets of people, certain attributes still remain solely associated with the female population. In times where I have felt that I was probably the only one dealing with these trivial yet significant issues, unladylike managed to get a good laugh out of me.

A podcast for the wannabe diplomats who can’t afford to waste their time. As an aspiring IAS officer, I often feel burdened by the vast amount of current affairs I have to memorize. The ability to listen to the relevant news on the go has saved a lot of time for me and has also helped me to remember the details better.

For the history nerds who love a good story. As a massive history nerd, I would always defend the relevance of human emotions in major historical events. Letters from war is a cumulation of stories that take you back to movies like TROY which give you the right balance of facts and emotions.

What men think series by BBC. For men dealing with a rapidly growing feminist generation and seeking the true meaning of manhood.

For the idealist living in a world of realists. Philosophy is the basis of every innovation, the ability to think and ask is what keeps us going, Philosophize this talks about great thinkers and seekers who changed the face of the world and urges you to think along those lines.

For those needing inspiration for their next standup routine. Always in the mood for a good laugh, Conan O’Brien’s podcast manages to light up my gloomy days, much like the random episodes of friends that we end up watching on loop.

For the ones looking to gain weight and the ones ready to shed weight because the world is a giant cloning factory. As someone who has dealt with major body-image issues, I realized that it was less about what others thought and more about how I would love myself. Healthy, for me, is not about shedding a few pounds but more about shedding my insecurities.

Each choice starts a behavior that overtime becomes a habit.

Well, now that I have established a starting point, let’s move on to the next stage- When can we listen to podcasts?

Data shows that most people prefer listening to podcasts at home. Think of it as the modern-day radio, that plays on while you wash your utensils, clean your bedding, remove the cobwebs or make breakfast.

Personally, I started listening to podcasts while going to sleep but my favorite time to indulge in this activity is while walking around in a park. Fresh air, barefoot on grass and listening to interesting conversations through your earphones is the new age nirvana.

If you are still reading, this is where I summarize and end this long rant. Podcasts are a great secondary activity and can potentially fill your brain with some useful information. Much like taking a bath, it is a habit that needs time to form, but if you enjoy staying unhygienic, I can’t do anything about it.

Do you have an interesting story to share on #WhyPodcasts?

--

--