A somewhat bitter poet speaks (aka what Gurus don’t say)

Helen Sventitsky
The storm in the midst of the calm
2 min readMay 3, 2016

I wrote and submitted my first set of poems at 20 to the Cat’s Meow at CND;

They were as good at notes submitted from hell to the underground, onto the pages of the Paris Review.

“sorry, we want poems with images, not ones that make statements”

I tried again next quarter.
Every cliche that caught fire.

I had 4 poems punlished.

I entered a poem into a hometown contest.

Twice.

Second time, I won,

despite the “uncommercial” nature of my work.

I was emboldened to submit to other publications.

The reject letters and snark from editors piled as

unpaid bills on the dining room table,

a result of jobs from which I was getting fired.

I was too busy being “uncommercial” and making statements.

I started going to meetings of 7 poets at William Talcott’s flat in the Sunset.

I would stop at Ed and Richard’s on Fulton for soup and art.

Everyone there changed my style. Or refined it.

The wood was starting to look like glass.

I had one disasterous reading at the Burlingame Public Library to promote a book I produced using dot matrix tech and a Commedore 64;

the Librarian took pity and bought a couple of copies for 3 bucks.

several of the other poets started allowing me into their publications;

the poem about my abortion was a particular hit.

The wood was turning into glass.

Then we split up.

William died. Jim moved to WA, Jules to London. I followed my husband as a lost puppy all over the western US and then to Munich.

Ed runs the group now. Whole new crew. No history. All hungry as I was, I have no wisdom to give them.

One day I will contribute, but I live too far away.

So I settle for the web;

Rejections now fly into my inbox as ether, “likes” precious as pablum;

my work disappearing using certain hashtags on Tumblr, where I do a sitewide search for my poems after I hit “submit”

and come up empty.

The thoughts I hold now wander to new dimensions,

one day where kindred spirits also find themselves

too busy being “uncommercial” and making statements.

--

--

Helen Sventitsky
The storm in the midst of the calm

Singer/songwriter/expat from hell. This blog houses essays for my YT channel.