I decide not to decide

Garima Gayatri
The Story Bar
Published in
2 min readMay 25, 2019
I have a song. No, you can play.

To care or set it free,
To let go or hold it,
To remember or forget,
To ignore or acknowledge,
To smile or curve it the other way,
To colour it all or leave it grey,
To give or take,
To take or give,
To accept or reject,

Should I take a pause here?

Should I complete the previous sentence?

To appreciate or criticize,
To move or stand still,
To stop or stir,
To dance or simply stare,
To write or leave it blank,
To choose or not to choose,
To believe or doubt,
To cry or laugh,
To rise or fall,
To look back or look ahead,
To question or quietly understand,
To understand or quietly refuse,
To sing or destroy the song,
To fight or lose willingly,
To help or remain aloof,
To buy or send it for free,
To see or close my eyes,
To hear or shut my ears,
To scream or keep it low,
To imagine or imitate,
To love or hate,
To think or let it be.
And the Shakespearean “To be or not to be.
Raise your finger and decide for me.
Show me how I ‘lost the way’.

How about some critically conscious cookies?

Be my guest. Have some tea.
The Swiss cookie would go just fine with it.
Would you like a smoke?
The weather is lovely.
The time is perfect.

Enlighten me. Decide for me.
Because I decide not to decide.

“I am no bird and no net ensnares me.”

--

--

Garima Gayatri
The Story Bar

A writer inspired by stories of smithereens. I write to make some sense of the nothingness, we all call life.