A Bit of Chinese Philosophy

San Cassimally
The Story Hall
Published in
1 min readMay 11, 2018

Just over two years ago, my brother Ahmad passed in Mauritius. He was the raconteur par excellence. The story below was one of his most memorable ones. The illustration is a detail from a patchwork executed by my wife Pirjo Cassimally

Patchwork specially created for Océane Dind

Two elderly Chinese philosophers are sitting at the river side, their bare feet immersed in the water. They have sat in silence for two hours, meditating, with only the lapping of the waves and the occasional bird in the sky chirping, watching dry grass floating away, or a fish or two. Suddenly this conversation takes place:

First Chinese Philosopher: Look at that lovely pair with no care in the world, having fun.

Second Chinese Philosopher turns to him, scowls and shakes his head.

Second Chinese Philosopher: Pardon me my venerable friend, how do you know that they have no care in the world? How do you even know that they’re having fun. You are you, and they are fish!

The response is immediate.

First Chinese Philosopher: Oh, I know that, esteemed colleague. You are you, and I am me. How do you know I don’t know?

--

--

San Cassimally
The Story Hall

Prizewinning playwright. Mathematician. Teacher. Professional Siesta addict.