A world in layers

Kirstin Vanlierde
The Story Hall
Published in
1 min readJan 3, 2018

I sometimes wonder how to explain to people how I perceive reality.

One of the closest metaphors I ever managed was: one transparent slide sheet with a drawing on it superposed on top of another, and another, and another.
Every sheet has its own design that can be read and studied seperately. But all the different layers will interact, some standing out more clearly, others blurred or fading into the background. If you shuffle the order or the transparent sheets, another perspective emerges, with other elements moving to the foreground.
And the complete story cannot, in fact, ever be grasped or understood in its entirety. It is too complex, like a living 3D-matrix.

Sometimes I hit upon an image, a lucky shot or a composition with some help from the surroundings, to convey a part of this feeling. Sometimes I’m very lucky.

This one, in fact, comes pretty close to showing what I see when I look at the world.

© KV

--

--

Kirstin Vanlierde
The Story Hall

Walker between worlds, writer, artist, weaver of magic