Christmas in November

Jeff Bailey
The Story Hall
Published in
2 min readNov 18, 2018

Tis’ the season to clear out the old and in doing so Larissa and I have made a little money, but more importantly, we have met other people in this area who know a great deal when they see one. Moving unwanted things in our environment mirrors the flow of energy in our bodies. The look on people’s faces who have responded to our free and dirt cheap sale posts dramatically shifts the experience of letting go to one of witnessing the joy of receiving.

Everything Christmas is springing up everywhere. It sprung out of the car radio the other night before it snowed. Except for a couple of other cars, the ride home is peaceful. My headlights appear remarkably bright as they run in advance pushing back the night. Maine’s first deceit snow storm is fast approaching, but the dark November harbinger blocking out the heavens this evening pays no attention to me.

As I get closer to home, the familiar terrain relaxes me, and I feel tired. I switch on the radio and hear an old familiar song: “Well, the weather outside is frightful… let it snow…” Driving down the country road, I listened to that song for the first time, but it seemed out-of-place a timely reminder of nature’s cruel and beautiful way.

Yesterday, I sold two tires to a woman named Melody. Melody was the first to respond, and she got a great deal. I brought her the tires since she was working and I was heading that way. The look of relief when she saw the tread condition was worth the trip, she said, “My tires are almost bald!” I can only imagine the difficulty of driving a car on snow-covered roads with bald tires!
Phoenix, our son, is playing Black Stash in a school play called Peter and the Star Catcher — a prequel to Peter Pan — and he steals the show. When driving to the school on opening night, I asked him if he were nervous and for that, he responded, “Yes.” He saw my surprised look and continued, “Not for me, dad, for the other actors.” He said with sincere modesty.

Steal the show, he does! Phoenix engages the other actors and catches the audience with the embodiment of his character, and he is so damn funny. During the curtain call, the audience registered their approval. Before we turned in, I mentioned to Larissa that seeing Phoenix performed so masterfully makes my heart sing.

--

--