Computer, Tell Me a Story

Geoff Dutton
The Story Hall
Published in
1 min readFeb 21, 2018

Atthis Arts, a small press in Detroit issued a call for submissions for an anthology they are calling As Told by Things. I sent them a geeky tale that to my surprise was accepted. My story, Petit Mal, concerns a guy’s office computer that gets stricken by malware. It is, of course, narrated from the computer’s POV, inside out. The poor machine tries to communicate to user Fred that it’s hosting spyware, but Fred doesn’t get it. Eventually the computer’s antics cause Fred to summon the IT support people to investigate. What happens next makes the computer realize that it might have done the wrong thing.

My story is embargoed prior to publication so I’m afraid I can’t share its text with you. However, I have arranged to have my computer read it out loud, should you care to have such an experience. (Why not? Robots talk to us all the time now.) Its diction is okay but monotone, but that’s totally appropriate, is it not?

Find the 10-minute Petit Mal audio track here, if you wish. Then quick, enter the contest if you have a thing with a good story to tell. They have extended the deadline, but probably for a limited period of time. Please know that submitted stories should not have been published on the Web or in print, so whip up something fresh. The submissions page has a link to their guidelines (PDF). Laugh. Enjoy. Create.

--

--