Fall On Me

Vertigo and Tornadoes — Just that kind of day

Hawkeye Pete Egan B.
The Story Hall
2 min readApr 14, 2020

--

Buy the sky and sell the sky
And lift your arms up to the sky
And ask the sky, and ask the sky
Don’t fall on me (what is it up in the air for)
Fall on me (if it’s there for long)
Fall on me (it’s over, it’s over me)

from Fall On Me by R.E.M.

Today I had my first vertigo attack since being in quarantine. It rendered me pretty useless all morning and for part of the afternoon. The most logical song for my daily quarantune, naturally, was “Fall On Me” by R.E.M. I didn’t even get around to putting that up until early evening, as I didn’t go anywhere near my laptop or even my office until the vertigo had run its course with me.

I was able to manage pulling things in from our back patio when I learned we were under a tornado watch for a good part of the afternoon. I also battonned down the hatches, the covers on our swim spa and jacuzzi. It was just one of those days. Fortunately, the tornadoes never struck, and my vertigo pretty much ended by dinner time.

I just need to make it through four more work days, then I will be off for a week. Before all of this, we were supposed to be leaving for a cruise on Friday, flying down to Orlando and catching a Disney Cruise out of Port Canaveral to the Western Caribbean for a week, then spending the next week in Disney World. This was to celebrate our 35 wedding anniversary, which is a week from tomorrow. I decided to still take a week of vacation, next week, as I feel like I could use a break from the intensity of work. I am so looking forward to that!

That’s all I have to say today. I just wanted to keep my momentum going — I’ve actually written and posted three days in a row, now. I am trying to get back into the groove of writing daily. Stay safe, my friends.

--

--

Hawkeye Pete Egan B.
The Story Hall

Connecting the dots. Storytelling helps me to make sense of this world, and of my life. I love writing and reading. Writing is like breathing, for me.