Footsteps From the Past by Connie Livingston-Dunn

I’m bigger than I was,

Growing slowly over time.

Soon I will grow larger

And someday

My footprints

Will disappear

In the sand,

Memories in the clouds

Drifting softly into the future.

The canvas is covered with light modeling paste and acrylic paint. I ‘auditioned’ the antique child’s shoes and the canvas to see if they were the right fit for each other, and the original audition is the second photo and the first photo is how I ended up gluing it all down. As I look at both of the photos, I think I like the first audition better (second photo), but for some reason, that wasn’t how it ended up. Sometimes it takes a long time to audition, ‘cast’ the right pieces/players for the part, and to set the ‘background stage’ to show them off to best advantage and there are always so many choices, that several of them would work.

Originally published at cowbird.com.

--

--