From Zero

Jeff Bailey
The Story Hall
Published in
2 min readMar 29, 2018
Classy Camp comes with a price

My wife foraged for 70’s style skirts and I looked for stuff to photograph.

Last night I dreamt that a moving van full of our earthly belongings tipped over and the contents spilled out onto the ground. My wife and father-in-law, known as Jed, stood with me watching this happen. Before the contents of the trailer had come to rest, swarms of people began rummaging through it taking what they wanted. I walked by this guy holding two of our vases trying to sell them.

I am in a gymnasium that I do not recognize. There are groups of people seating on either side of the court but I do not know anyone. I exit into an open area and I feel like an intruder. The walls and ceiling are white and the floors are hardwood. I am looking for an exit and midway down a wide hallway, I see a staircase descending down.

Life is a bit like our dreams. The stuff in the van is meaningless and I must descend into myself further than I have gone before. Another way to see it is that I must become familiar with what is there within me. I do not need to transcend my thinking process by tiptoeing beyond my emotions to experience my soul eternal, no. My journey is taking me into the active relative parts of myself. This could be the shadow and it intrigues and challenges me.

--

--