Hear, Here!

Dealing with Declining Hearing

Hawkeye Pete Egan B.
The Story Hall
4 min readJul 4, 2024

--

One truth about aging that I have had to learn to accept is my declining ability to hear. I went for my hearing test at the V.A. last November, and they noted that the hearing in my left ear had declined, considerably. Even though my right ear is about the same — not great, but maintaining at the same level - they decided to give me a second hearing aid, for the right ear, to assist with the overall correction. This has helped, but it’s been getting harder and harder for me to hear what people are saying, even with the additional assistance.

It never dawned on me that this could mean an old friend was back. I went back to the V.A. in April for my follow-up with the ENT doctor who treated me when I had a facial nerve schwannoma (technically a brain tumor). I’m supposed to go back every couple years as an ongoing assurance, just to be on the safe side. He didn’t like what he saw when he looked at the results of my recent hearing test, so told me to get a follow-up MRI performed.

Concerned, I asked him, “Is there a chance the tumor is back?”

“I just want to rule out that possibility. It could be. If it is, there’s really not a whole lot we can do about it, other than continue to observe it.”

I scheduled and got the MRI in May, and now am just waiting until I go back to see the doc in early August. My care at the V.A. has been stellar, but things do take time.

Having learned from the first time this thing in my head appeared, 9 years ago, I have chosen not to dive into fear and spend my summer worrying about what’s going on in my head. It is what it is, whatever it is. I just continue to do my best to live in the moment, focus on today, and let tomorrow bring whatever it will bring. I believe that I will have what I need to deal with whatever that is when it’s time to deal with it.

Of course, in the now, there is the hearing thing. Do you know how old it gets to almost constantly have to say, “What was that? Could you repeat that?” Or, simply nod my head like I heard what was said, when I really didn’t hear much of anything intelligible? That is my reality.

The worst, for me, is being in a room crowded with people, all talking, normally a fun gathering of family and/or friends, but I now tend to try to find a quiet little corner where I can focus on one or two discussions, and hope others don’t feel like I’m trying to ignore them. In such a setting, all I hear is the roar of the collective conversations — it’s nearly impossible for me to hear what any one is saying.

So, despite my gregarious nature, I tend to avoid such large gatherings these days. I guess I got used to that during Covid, for completely different reasons, then.

I got very used to connecting with people through virtual means, and still find that more comfortable, mainly because I can usually hear everything that is being said there. I have volume control, and can just turn it up a few notches, if needed. Pluse, in a virtual setting, everyone doesn’t talk at once. That’s so much better, for me. I’m grateful that I still have so many virtual connections with folks. That keeps my need for social interaction with others fed, so the hearing deficiency doesn’t have to isolate me from others. I thank God for that!

--

--

Hawkeye Pete Egan B.
The Story Hall

Connecting the dots. Storytelling helps me to make sense of this world, and of my life. I love writing and reading. Writing is like breathing, for me.