He’s in the Army Now

Jeff Bailey
The Story Hall
Published in
2 min readOct 13, 2017
Jeff Bailey © 2017

I’d like to take credit, I’d like to think that something I said made a difference but my son entering the Army was completely unexpected. He didn’t consult with me and he didn’t have to. He makes his own decisions now and I was relieved to hear that he had chosen to make a change.

I didn’t agree with his lifestyle and because of that, we haven’t spent much time together in the last few years. My door is always open to him but if he wanted help taking a different path, his lifestyle wouldn’t be tolerated. It was tough realizing that his choices and appearance negatively affected me. My mother once told me that she always loved me but sometimes she didn’t like me; I now know what she meant.

Two weeks ago he told me of his enlistment and day he did, I invited him to the house and gave him a haircut and suggested he shave. The young man I recognized was under that long, scraggly and at times greasy hair and behind that goat beard. Appearance greatly effects others; his revised appearance improved my opinion instantly.

He has some work to do and I have tried to guide him, maybe my advice will come in handy someday. There is anger inside of him and, if the gods are willing, he will take a look inside and resolve those buried emotions. He was smart about his career choice, non-combative and civilian friendly.

I still disagree with some of his choices to the degree he sees my life as boring and uneventful. Where there was anxiety, now there is hope. The military can help turn a person’s life around and I think my son is a good candidate for positive change. Go Army!

--

--