Jeff Bailey
The Story Hall
Published in
4 min readMay 30, 2018

--

“Hey Dad!” From 4000 Feet

Jeff Bailey © 2018

Raven rode shotgun as we headed toward the Maine Mall to get supplies for the upcoming hike. Two of his college buddies were joining him, Karan and Yang. They had decided on a 100 mile section of the Appalachian Trail. Three healthy young men taking a 100 mile hike sound doable, but I was concerned.

These seekers of enlightenment, the honored with distinction, had just finished the toughest semester of their two year stint at the Bard’s College, Simon’s Rock and with asses now calloused they were ready for a physical challenge. They planned to hike five days and cover 100 miles. They deserved a well earned break but I wasn’t comfortable with their enthusiasm. I searched my soul for inspiration, I didn’t want to dampen their soaring spirits, but an injection of reality was needed. I settled for asking questions rather than giving my opinion.

Yang is an Eagle Scout and an avid hiker, he is also legally blind but I could not tell his vision was impaired when watching him navigate around the house. This hike would be Karan’s first and he appeared to be in good physical condition. Both Raven and Karan played basketball and soccer at school, but these extracurricular activities are not targeted conditioning for such a hero quest.

My concern for the kids well-being did not eclipse my ability to remember how I once felt. I recalled my indifference to death and insane risk taking and instead of suggesting that they abandon the entire plan, I ask what the exit plan was if they couldn’t keep going? Latter that day, he gods answered my supplication when Raven informed me that another shorter trail had seemed a more reasonable choice.

It took an hour and a half to reach the Grafton Loop trail head. I was surprised how heavy Karan’s day pack was being more weighty than the official back pack. The departing ceremony was brief and after the guys sprayed on bug dope, I took a photo and they departed. I was relieved and looking forward to four days of activities Larissa and had planned for ourselves.

The house was quiet again. I had missed our key clicking commiques back and forth, hers from the office and mine from the dinning room. That night, we ate out and we’re in no hurry to get up the following morning. Having time to ourselves is a rare thing, the day in and out of it, and we were adjusting just fine but then my cell phone rang. “Hey Raven!” I knew immediately why Raven was calling, he and his friends were returning home.

It was dusk by the time I arrived, they arriving a few minutes ahead of me. Yang expressed his worry that I might not be able to find them, but trail heads are a big deal and road leading to them was well groomed. I didn’t have to ask them what happened, they were more than anxious to tell me and their ordeal unfolded over the next twenty five miles.

A significant detail was overlooked when our three heroes were deciding which trail to conquer; the trail they chose was classified as treacherous; and it didn’t take look for our adventures to experience what that meant.

  1. Several inclines were pitched at such a degree as to require installed hand holds, not using them would insure tumbling backwards head over heals.
  2. A recent micto-burst had toppled many trees and those trees lay across the trail.
  3. Because of the storm, the trail was lost several times.
  4. Weather conditions and temperature vary greatly

When the guys made it to a ridge, the force of the wind blowing perpendicular to their path constantly push them toward the edge. Trails were worn terribly when I was foolish enough to attempt heroic acts and I image what they encountered was much worse. Compound all these difficulties and roll an ankle or two, add bruised knees and you have an idea of what was running through their minds when they stopped to camp on the first day.

I had warned them that open fires were likely prohibited, but they were sure that wasn’t the case but it was. The first night didn’t hit freezing, but temperatures in the low forties and inadequate sleeping gear can easily lead to hypothermia. The guys were smart enough to move around and generate body heat and then it started to rain. The modern way of pitching a tent is to pitch a hammock instead. The hammocks came with a fly and the most effective way to use it was to wrap it themselves in it. I think the fly help trap body heat and the cloudy sky stabilized the temperature and may have raised it.

When I got the call at 4000 feet I heard the voice of a young man who had survived and couldn’t wait for the comforts of home.

--

--