How My Imagination Took Me Out Of A Deep Depression

Sunny Gupta
The Story Hall
Published in
3 min readDec 1, 2019
Photo by Francisco Moreno on Unsplash

Back when I was 12 years old, I used to be SUPER happy.

Like nothing could bring me down ..

Laughing, Smiling, Happy, Overjoyed …

Then one day, my parents told me we’re moving to USA.

Fast forward a few weeks later, and I join middle school and make my first friend on the first day.

A few weeks later, on one fine morning, our class was having elections for class president.

And my new best friend was running for president.

Long story short, I didn’t vote for him for class president .. well cause I didn’t think he would be good enough.

Unfortunately, he was literally RIGHT BEHIND my freakin’ shoulder peaking, as I was casting my vote.

My heart pounded like crazy, and I had no words ..

And from there my life turned to utter hell.

He started bullying me every day. AND he turned many people in the class against me because he was the most popular kid in our grade and everyone valued what he said.

For the first time in my life, I felt depression. I felt suicidal thoughts. I felt like not getting up in the morning. Not going to school.

I sought out escape.

Escape in the form of music. Oh man I still have some fond memories of that. Imagine leaving hell to enter a magical world. At least that’s what it felt like.

But more interestingly, I sought out a more beneficial kind of escape.

Every day, I went to school, and had a shitty day. I’d do my homework, and still have a shitty day. But then ..

I’d go into bed at night, put the blanket over me into complete darkness, and envision my future.

Now this habit of mine really felt like entering a magical world …

I would use the amazing power of my imagination to dream up an amazing life for myself, that I JUST KNEW one day I would live.

No matter how much bullying shattered my confidence, nothing shattered the pure ambition in me that my mom instilled in me, telling me I can be anything I wanted to be.

And so I dreamt my future life.

I dreamt of saving the damsel in distress ..

I dreamt of me singing on a big stage in front of millions of people …

I dreamt of being super fit.

Sure I didn’t reach most of the goals I set for myself. But that’s not the point.

The point is that I BELIEVED I will one day. I still believe I will.

Belief combined with imagination can take a man to the moon.

For me, going to the moon was being happy again.

If it wasn’t for my imagination, I would have had a very dark depression still lingering to this day and I would not know what to do with myself.

But how exactly did my imagination get me out of depression?

See, just knowing deep down in your heart that one day everything will be okay, gives you HOPE.

And really the answer you need if you’re depressed yourself, is to have hope. Hold on to that hope until you figure out how to get out of depression.

Have hope because you know that getting out of depression is POSSIBLE.

If you don’t believe it is possible, you will be a victim to your depression and it will control you for life.

If you are suffering from depression, man I’ve been there.

I promise there’s a way out.

Maybe not today, maybe not a year from now, but if you hold onto hope, use your imagination to dream a good life for yourself, and believe that it is possible to get out of depression, you will get out, and you will be happy one day.

I promise.

--

--

Sunny Gupta
The Story Hall

I run all kinds of tests on myself. Small ones. Large ones. Mainstream or unconventional. Sometimes even extreme tests. Who am I? A product of my daily habits.