How to Write Flash Fiction (3)

San Cassimally
The Story Hall
Published in
2 min readJun 10, 2018

Why Pigs Don’t Fly

The boar was absolutely fed up hearing the expression “When pigs will fly” all the time. He determined that he will show them, and be the first to fly. He

Boar wanted to fly

asked everywhere, and they all laughed at him. Pigs can do many things but flying ain’t one of them. But he was determined. One day he heard about the Magician Crow.

Crow was going to teach him

He was a crow but he was as big as a duck. A big duck. Boar approached him with gifts, and begged for an audience. Magician Crow decided to grant him one. Have you come to do something for me? No, admitted Boar. Then you’ve come to ask me to do something for you. What can I do for you? he asked. Simple, replied the Boar, I must learn to fly. Can you learn me? First, said the Magician sternly, when you address me, you must do so in correct grammatical language. No one can learn you to fly. But, but… you’re a magician, surely you can learn me. There you go again. I cannot learn you. I can teach you, and then you learn. Boar was a bit bemused. So, you can teach me? You said I can teach you. Yes, thundered the Magician Crow. I can teach you. It’s the simplest thing in the world. The Boar was over the moon_ where he met a cow.

Then Lord Magician, lear_ I mean, teach me to fly. I will do it tomorrow. Come here just before dawn and it will be done in less than five minutes. The Boar was once more over the moon. When he was there yesterday, he had obviously come down. I will see you to-morrow just before dawn then, Master. And he proceed to trot out, but just as he reached the entrance, the Magician stopped him. I had forgotten one thing, you must bring me a pair of wings when you come. Without wings, you can’t fly.

--

--

San Cassimally
The Story Hall

Prizewinning playwright. Mathematician. Teacher. Professional Siesta addict.