Kudzu Poetry by Connie Livingston-Dunn

A few years ago, I took an online test on what famous authors my writing resembled and one of them was Jack Kerouak because of my run on sentences, along with another author who I didn’t recognize. My daughter told me my writing was difficult to understand and to make my sentences shorter so I have done that, but sometimes I miss that writing flow of thoughts that comes from a lengthy sentence.

I stopped reading fiction for many years because I was busy working, going to college and raising kids and it was one of the things I eliminated from my reading lists. So about those run on sentences…..

My sentences run on and on

Playing hopscotch leaping and bounding

Over each other as they playfully

Dance and sing of

Wonders and challenges and

Telling stories of love and fear

As they continue to grow and expand

To paragraph after paragraph

Of one sentence each

With nuances and variations of

Color and rhythm building

Pictures in the mind

Heart and soul,

While the sentence shifts gears and moves

With much emphasis and clarity

Slowly and deliciously…….

With staccato excitement <><><><>

Like links in a chain ~~~~~~

To its climax,

So I believe it’s time

To really dive into Kerouac

And ‘The Dharma Bums’ (I had to find his book To spell his name right),

And I’m sure I could continue

At least another infinite decade

With this same sentence

If only I had time

To write more

Kerouac Kudzu and

PS, I did read his book.

Photos were taken about 10 miles from where I live. Kudzu is non native to America, considered invasive, and spreads all over everything. It is also supposed to be medicinal, so perhaps that is a good way to make use of its over growth. (Notice my non kudzu sentences).

Adapted and expanded from the original publication at cowbird.com.

--

--