Maine

Jeff Bailey
The Story Hall
Published in
1 min readApr 3, 2018
Jeff Bailey © 2018 — Mount Washington

This morning I drove into some nearby hills and discovered an incredible view of Mount Washington. I am not the first to consider this an awesome view because I can see several hilltop homes with nearly panoramic vistas. The homes didn’t appear super energy efficient and power alternatives such as solar panels and wind turbines were not visible. Someone wanted this view so much that running a power line and doing major road work were not insurmountable obstacles. Precious is the view but it comes at a cost.

The homes are exposed not only to the harsh Nor’Easterly weather but they interrupt the soothing topographical lines created by the foothills. My visual journey along the treetops came to an abrupt halt at the gash of an opening created by one of these homes. Granted, the very top of the hill is likely the only place the home could be situated but the results for me, what I derive from experiencing natures expansiveness is lessened.

I drove back into town but the distinction between the solitude of the foothills and the kinetic energies of the valley was less distinct.

--

--