Marching Forth

Hawkeye Pete Egan B.
The Story Hall
Published in
3 min readMar 5, 2019

“The best preparation for tomorrow is doing your best today”.

H. Jackson Brown, Jr.

“Take it easy, don’t let the sound of your own wheels drive you crazy”

Jackson Browne, “Take it Easy”

I had my semi-annual visit to the V.A. Medical Center this morning. This one was just to get my hearing tested — but when it comes to my ears, it’s never really “just“. They’ve grown very sensitive, after all they’ve been through, so a simple hearing test can throw me way off — and it did. I’ve learned to anticipate it, and be ready for this.

By the time the audiology doctor was done with her ear drum pressure checks, doing all the beeps and word-repeats, testing the resonance of the audial nerve, the poking and the prodding, I was reeling. My tinnitus went off-the-charts loud and has remained that way all day. Nausea set in, and I knew I wasn’t going to make it into work as I’d hoped.

I gave myself plenty of time getting there because I knew parking would be an issue, and it was. I wound up having to park at the hospital across the way and hoof it back to the V.A. hospital. They’re renovating the garage at the V.A., so parking is very limited. That’s when I gained an appreciation of just how freaking cold it was out today. It just seems like this winter will never end.

I came straight home after the testing, and took a good hour long nap. I got up in time to grab a quick bite for lunch, then call into a board meeting at 3. I felt a little better after the nap and lunch, but still not great. I kept thinking about taking a walk, but knowing how cold it was, I kept putting it off. Finally, it was too late to get a walk in before dinner.

After dinner, I decided to walk down to the meeting and back, that would get me closer to my daily goal of 10,000 steps, which I wasn’t anywhere close to. But, my friend W needed to talk after the meeting, so instead of walking back, I let him give me a ride back, so we could talk on the way. It was great to be able to just listen to someone else’s issues. It’s hard to be worried about your own when you’re being there for someone else.

Another guy I’m working with had called me during the meeting, so I figured I’ll get my steps in after W. dropped me off, and give P. a call back while I’m walking. Once I got out there, sufficiently bundled up, I realized what a perfect night it was for a good walk. So, I walked all the way to the Giant, about a mile and a half each way, to get some bagels for the morning, and I grabbed a King Cake while I was at it. Tomorrow is Fat Tuesday — gotta have a King Cake! By the time I got back from that walk, I had well over 12,000 steps, keeping my March average well above 12,000, as well.

I love it when even a potentially lousy day like today was shaping up to be, gets turned around, and I wind up meeting my goals, despite myself. Plus, I felt good about pushing myself one more day towards Spring. I am steadfastly marching forth (on March 4th!) through these final days of winter, doing my best to get through this with my spirit intact. It is a struggle, but I am engaged and making the most of what’s in front of me, today. Today is all I’ve got.

Who knows what tomorrow will bring? But, at least I’ve ended this day well.

Originally published at hawkeyepeteblog.com on March 5, 2019.

--

--

Hawkeye Pete Egan B.
The Story Hall

Connecting the dots. Storytelling helps me to make sense of this world, and of my life. I love writing and reading. Writing is like breathing, for me.