Music of the Heart

Lakshmi Bhat
The Story Hall
Published in
2 min readOct 29, 2017

I think we are lucky if we remember that we have so much to be grateful for. The other day we were telling each other that whenever we feel sad or feel dissatisfied with what comes our way in life, we should make a list of all that we have that fills us with gratitude.

When I read about all acts of violence happening in so many parts of the world, I am filled with gratitude that I am living in a place where the violent world seems far away. But along with this feeling, the thought keeps coming to mind that I should not be feeling grateful when people elsewhere are suffering so much. This is the dilemma that we face in different ways in our lives. The other day I had been to our hospital for the yearly check-up. There were so many patients from different parts of our state. Looking at them I felt that good health is our most precious possession. I was filled with gratitude that I was not part of the hospital world. Again, am I being very selfish? I don’t know. The ‘gratitude’ list is a long one. The minuses are really of no consequence when there is so much to be grateful for.

“Gratitude is the music of the heart, when its chords are swept by the breeze of kindness.” ~Author Unknown

“Gratitude is the fairest blossom which springs from the soul.” ~Henry Ward Beecher

--

--

Lakshmi Bhat
The Story Hall

I am a person who believes there is not enough darkness in the world to extinguish the light of a small candle. We live in a small place in South India.