Note to Self-Love

Apoorva Mishra
The Story Hall
Published in
1 min readNov 18, 2019

It took me so long

To learn to love you

What should have been

So easy, I made so hard

You demanded so little

Waiting as you have

At the edge observing

And there I am with

My arrogant ego

Laying down the conditions

Separating you from me

With Ifs and Buts,

While I am so easy on the others

Out there

It’s not fair

You call out faintly

And rightly so

I have been so unfair

For the very one

Whom I could have adored

I dismissed

I searched instead outside

For approval

Trying to replenish

Something I thought I lost

A long time ago.

But it wasn’t loss,

I had just forgotten

And turned away from you

If Life had not been so harsh

And others not been so unkind

I would not have returned your way

Cut through the forest of Ifs and Buts

Reaching your fortress instead

And hear I am on bent knees

Wailing at your beauty

How I missed you all these years

And the sadness of my petty arrogance

But I know in your perfect light

You would not forsake me

Because there you stand

In all your glory naked and pure

Waiting and ready to be embraced.

--

--

Apoorva Mishra
The Story Hall

Write mostly poems and thoughts on what inspires me.