Old as New

Jeff Bailey
The Story Hall
Published in
2 min readAug 9, 2018

I recently found a small statuette of Yoda that I received as a Christmas gift years ago. Yoda stands upright with his arms folded across his chest and his right-hand covers his left that rests on the top of his cane. A brown robe has drawn around him, but for his toes, hands, and head, a light seagrass green color.

I felt the joy of a 22-year old who back in 1977 watched STAR WARS 18 times. Yoda stands on a black pedestal with a small yellow button near his feet and with the high expectation of hearing his profound wisdom, I pushed it, but Yoda remained silent. Of course, nothing happened, it needed batteries. I scurried around and found a small Phillips head screwdriver and removed the battery cover. That is when I discovered batteries, very old batteries which had corroded creating a lovely white turquoise colored powder. My high expectations were seized by the dark side as the sun receded behind darkening clouds.

Instead of lamenting the past and succumbing to despair, I took action and began reviving Yoda. The patient, cooperative and I optimistic about putting new batteries into a cleaned chamber. I screwed on the covered and again pushed the button, and Yoda remained silent still.

Yoda sits next to my computer now without complaint, but today, as I searched for the right words, I considered giving another attempt to restoring his voice. My plan consisted of a baking soda solution and a fan. Before I launched into major surgery, I playfully pushed the button and like magic, like the force flowing between me and Yoda, his voice rang out clear and true, “Size matters not, for my ally is the force. You must feel the force around you.“

Just like that, a message from the Universe is delivered and an old friendship is revived.

--

--