Pastel on Gessoed Panel (w/update* at bottom)

Susan G Holland
The Story Hall
Published in
2 min readDec 13, 2018

SGH 2018

Late December and I’m on “holiday break.” That does not mean I am totally idle. (did anyone really think I idle much?)

Messing with media, as usual, in fits and starts, and then subjecting messes to the simple little digital paint program I have known and loved for ages.

My “S.O.” “granddaughter-in-law”, as it were, reclined at Thanksgiving, giving me and my little camera a great chance to channel the impressionist era. Impressionists, meet algorithms, please!

The graininess and vagueness of this image that evolved this morning suggests worn-out old paintings, stored too long in a dry attic with fragments of over-dry paint falling off a poorly prepared canvas. Somehow that makes it look “antique”, and maybe even “valuable.”

I like it. Hope others will enjoy my flights of fancy.

Not that the actual painting [Pastel on gessoed wood panel] will be so seductive. We shall see.

This is a report from my winter “BREAK.”

*

Added report — the face is beginning to emerge slowly.

--

--

Susan G Holland
The Story Hall

Student of life; curious always. Tyler School of Fine Art, and a couple of years’ worth of computer coding and design, plus 87 years of discovery.