Pre-Dawn

Jeff Bailey
The Story Hall
Published in
1 min readMar 2, 2018
Gateway — Jeff Bailey © 2018

The staircase was dark and it became more difficult to see as I descended. The lack of light did not impede my progress, turning and descending then again turning and descending. The staircase was wide like in a museum but the environment felt homey.

Off to my left, I passed by an opened door and inside the room, a faint glint, like aged gold leaf danced over a bureau and a bed. The next landing was completely black except for an outline of a wide wooden door which made the doorknob look extremely small. Without effort, the door opened.

As the door opened, my eyes remained shut. I was uncertain of what I would find. What if this door led to the basement, had I missed the ground floor?

In anxious anticipation and eyes remaining shut, within my mind’s eye, I reached out and grasped an iron railing. The next instant, I was on the outside of that large wooden door, looking out over majestic 19th century homes, those of brick and stone and it was a clear sunny Spring morning.

--

--