SAPLING #36 — Unreadable

Kirstin Vanlierde
The Story Hall
Published in
2 min readJul 12, 2018
© Jurgen Walschot

Shamelessly, you display what others would cover.

Yet however intimately you invite the world to have a look, a part of you will remain unseen. Residing deep within the folds of the book, within the creases of the sheets, is something that is nobody’s business.

That which displays itself to the world in the nude is rarely the most beautiful and never the most intriguing. You tell me I am an open book. You, on the other hand, can play with what you show like a master might in claire-obscure. And whatever falls outside the frame is for me to make up.

I trace the outline of your body, the drag marks of the midday sun across the walls along the bed. Within these lines of light I leave you to be unreadable.

The SAPLING series is a joint project with artist and illustrator Jurgen Walschot.
Saplings are creative sprouts. I will write to the images, he will draw to the words.

--

--

Kirstin Vanlierde
The Story Hall

Walker between worlds, writer, artist, weaver of magic